answersLogoWhite

0

'Trample' allows a creature to deal damage to a player even it is blocked. When damage is dealt, it needs only assign 'lethal' damage to the blockers, the rest is dealt to the player. 'Lethal damage' is considered to be damage equal to the blocker's toughness, it does not take 'Protection' or 'Indestructable' into account. So take a situation where an 8/8 trampler is blocked by a 1/1 creature with indestructable, and a 1/1 creature who has protection from the colour of the attacker. The attacker can deal 1 damage to each, and the remaining 6 to the opponent, it doesn't matter that both creatures survive the 'lethal' damage.

As a last note, a creature with both Trample and Deathtouch needs only deal a single point of damage to any blocker, regardless of toughness. So if that same creature above was blocked by two 3/3 creatures, it still can deal just one to each and the rest to the player. Without Deathtouch it would be forced to deal 3 to each, and only 2 to the player.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

How does trample work in Magic: The Gathering when a creature is blocking?

When a creature with trample is blocked in Magic: The Gathering, it can assign excess damage to the defending player or planeswalker if it has enough power to destroy all blocking creatures.


What does the trample ability do in Magic: The Gathering?

The trample ability in Magic: The Gathering allows a creature to deal excess damage to a defending player or planeswalker if it has more power than is needed to destroy the blocking creature.


How does trample protection work in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)?

In Magic: The Gathering, trample protection prevents a creature from being dealt damage by a creature with trample if the damage would be lethal to the protected creature. This means that the protected creature will not take any excess damage beyond what is needed to destroy it.


What happens when a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection in Magic: The Gathering?

When a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection in Magic: The Gathering, the attacking creature can assign excess damage to the defending player or planeswalker, bypassing the protected creature.


How does trample work in Magic: The Gathering when a creature is blocked by multiple blockers?

When a creature with trample in Magic: The Gathering is blocked by multiple blockers, it only needs to assign lethal damage to each blocker before it can assign any excess damage to the defending player or planeswalker.


What are the specific rules in Magic: The Gathering regarding trample and how does it impact gameplay?

In Magic: The Gathering, trample allows excess damage from a creature to be dealt to the defending player or planeswalker if the creature's power is greater than the toughness of the creature blocking it. This can impact gameplay by making it harder for opponents to block and prevent damage, giving the player with trample an advantage in combat situations.


What does trample mean in magic?

Trample means you runn over other players defence and hits players life


What are the trample rules in Magic: The Gathering and how do they affect gameplay?

In Magic: The Gathering, trample is a keyword ability that allows a creature to deal excess combat damage to the defending player or planeswalker if it has trample and its power is greater than the toughness of the creature blocking it. Trample affects gameplay by giving attacking creatures with high power the ability to deal damage beyond what is needed to destroy blocking creatures, potentially dealing more damage to the defending player or planeswalker.


How does the interaction between trample and protection work in Magic: The Gathering?

When a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection in Magic: The Gathering, the attacking creature's excess damage can still be dealt to the defending player or planeswalker. Protection prevents damage, enchanting, blocking, and targeting from sources of the specified color or type, but trample allows excess damage to go through to the defending player or planeswalker if the blocking creature is destroyed.


What is the ruling on double strike and trample interactions in Magic: The Gathering?

When a creature with double strike and trample deals combat damage in Magic: The Gathering, it first assigns damage equal to its power to the defending creature or player. Any excess damage is then assigned to the defending player or planeswalker. This means that the trample ability can be used to deal additional damage to the defending player or planeswalker after the defending creature has been dealt lethal damage.


What is the difference between protection and trample in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) and how do they interact with each other in gameplay?

In Magic: The Gathering, protection prevents a creature from being targeted, dealt damage, enchanted/equipped, or blocked by sources of a specified color or type. Trample allows excess damage from a creature's attack to be dealt to the defending player or planeswalker. When a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection from the attacking creature's color or type, the trample damage is prevented and does not go through to the defending player or planeswalker.


How does protection affect a creature's ability to trample through enemy defenses in a game of Magic: The Gathering?

Protection in Magic: The Gathering prevents a creature from being targeted, dealt damage, or enchanted by certain colors or types of cards. This can make it difficult for opponents to block or remove the protected creature, allowing it to trample through enemy defenses more effectively.