answersLogoWhite

0

Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Illinois
Maryland

In Missouri can a 13-year-old choose a guardian or emancipate themselves?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-01-24 17:48:10

No. Minors are not allowed to make such a decision regardless of the state in which they live. The minimum age in the few US states that allow the emancipation of a minor is 16. In addition, Missouri does not have grounds nor procedure for emancipation (in other words it is not allowed).

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

Can you move out at 17 in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, a minor can move out, but they will need a guardian of some kind. It is best to seek legal counsel if one is trying to emancipate themselves from their parents.


Could a 18 year old brother emancipate his younger 17 year old brother?

Only the court can emancipate a minor. If the paper needs to be signed it has to be by his legal guardian who in this case is probably his parents.


What happens when a minor is the benefitionary of a life insurance policy?

I believe their guardian has control over it until their 18 or emancipate them selves


Could a second wife be considered a legal guardian in Missouri?

A second wife could be considered a legal guardian in Missouri. It may be beneficial to the child to do so, if the child spends time with her.


Is the patron saint of guardian angels guardian angel?

Guardian angels are, themselves, saints so have no need for a patron saint.


What are the tattoo laws in Missouri?

In the state of Missouri if you are under the legal age of 18 you must have a parent and/or legal guardian with you.


Is it legal to consume alcohol underage in your home with your legal guardian or parent in Missouri?

This is Legal in your home, with your parent or guardian ONLY


What are the rights of a minor that is abandon?

To get a legal guardian, a family to live with and to be supported by his parents. Being abandoned does not mean you are on your own or emancipated or that a judge will emancipate you.


Can a 15 year old pregnant girl move out of her parents house in Mississippi?

No. Until you are 18 you need to live with a legal guardian. Pregnancy does not emancipate you.


How do you emancipate yourself in the state of Michigan?

In Michigan at 16 you can petition the court for emancipation. Be aware that Michigan?s emancipation statute states that ONE of the requirements is: "the minor's parent or guardian does not object to the petition; or if a parent or guardian objects to the petition, that the objecting parent or guardian is not providing the minor with support"


Who is the patron saint of guardian angels?

Guardian angels have no patron saint because they are, in a sense, patrons themselves.


Does Missouri allow emancipation of a minor to their parent or guardian?

yes but you must be 16 years of age .


What is the legal age in Missouri for getting pierced?

When going to get a piercing/ tattoo you are asked to sign a contract. In Missouri anyone under the age of 18 can not sign a contract therefore you cant get a piercing/' tattoo unless your parent/guardian is there to sign and can prove they are your parent/guardian.


Who publishes the Guardian News?

The Guardian News is a privately owned newspaper located in the United Kingdom that publishes their newspapers themselves. The Guardian is one of the more popular news paper in the UK.


Could your fiance be considered a legal guardian in Missouri?

No, that would present a "conflict of interest" and would not be allowed under Missouri laws or any other state.


Is it illegal to keep a 17 year old female from leaving your house in Missouri?

It is unless you are their legal guardian.


Can a 17 year old pregnant girl get married in the state of Missouri?

Not without permission from parents or guardian.


Can a 16 year old have child support paid directly to them in Missouri?

No it has to be paid to his guardian mentioned in the divorce decree in court.


Can a guardian call themself the child's parent?

If the child lives with them they can call themselves step mom or bonus dad if the child still have access to their biological parents. But a guardian can also be a relative so a guardian can't always call themselves the child's parent.AnswerObviously there are many different situations in which a child may have a court appointed guardian and so there is no single answer. Sometimes a guardian is appointed when the parents die in an accident or completely abandon the child. In that case it would be appropriate for the guardian to be treated as a parent and the child treated as their own child. You haven't included any details so the answer is yes, sometimes.When someone asks the guardian's official legal statusthey should not identify themselves as the parent. A school or doctor's office may want a copy of the guardianship order for their files.


How late can a 16 year old work in Missouri?

In the state of Missouri no Juvenile is allowed to be out on the streets (work,friends,general travel, etc) between 11:59 PM to 5:00 PM unless accompanied by a guardian.


Can a 16-year-old get emancipated in Missouri with a parent's consent?

Yes. You can get it without too, but you may hit some delays. Missouri does not have grounds nor procedures for the emancipation of minors with or without the consent of the parents or a legal guardian.


Can you be 15 years old and emancipate yourself to live with a friend?

I'm not sure what the law is in your state but it varies from different states i do Know that in most states that one of you parents or legal guardian must sign a form of release but each case is different .


Can a 17-year-old sign themselves into high school without a parent or guardian in pennsylvaina?

no way


Is a guardian a parent?

No. A legal guardian is not a parent.No. A legal guardian is not a parent.No. A legal guardian is not a parent.No. A legal guardian is not a parent.


Can you legally emancipate your adult children?

Unless you have been court appointed as their 'guardian' your ADULT children ARE emancipated once they pass their 18th birthday (in MOST states). If they are still living at home and you wish them to leave, you must evict them under the laws of your particular state.