answersLogoWhite

0


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2010-10-27 19:11:50

I believe it's law everywhere that you have to pay until they are 18 regardless if the child is in school or not.

The court order for child support stipulates the manner and length of time in which support is mandated.

Issues concerning the legitimacy of payment should always be discussed with legal counsel, preferably the attorney who handled the original case.

The parent under the order should NEVER arbitrarily cease or change the payment arrangement.

In the State of Michigan, if the child is no longer in school, i.e. quits before they turn 18, you are no longer obligated to pay child support.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

In Texas does your child continue to receive child support as as she is in school or college?

Nope once they are 18 and outta HS.. kid is on their own. Trust me I asked the state support attorney


What is the child support when child turns 18 in Texas?

There is no child support after a child turns 18 in Texas, unless the child has not graduated high school.


Do you continue to pay child support if your child quits school?

The child's school status would not, in itself, justify termination of support.


If the child is still in high school at 18 does child support continue?

Typically, yes. Most states order child support to continue through high school. Check your order to see what it says.


If the child is still in school and is 18 do child support payments stop?

I do believe that in most states the support payments continue as long as the child is in school including college.


Do you continue to receive child support in North Carolina if your child quits school?

Child support is paid until the child is at least 18 even if the child quit school or graduate early.


If a child that is seventeen years old drops out of school do you have to keep paying child support?

In the US, yes, you have to continue paying child support.


When a child turns 18 does a father still have to pay child support or have to go to court to stop paying child support in Texas?

At 18, you are no longer considered a child for child support purposes unless you have not graduated high school or are disabled. If the child is 18 and out of high school, you must contact the Texas AG to stop child support.


What age do you stop paying child support in the state of Texas?

In Texas, when the child graduates from High School. So if you have more then one child, when the last child that you have graduates from High School is when the child support payments will end for you. If the child is not in school for whatever reason it is the age of 18 years old.


In Texas how long do you have to keep paying child support?

At what age does child support payments end? Generally, the obligation ends when the child reaches 18 years of age or the child graduates from high school, whichever occurs later. However, a court can order the obligation to continue for an indefinite period if the child is disabled. A child will automatically be ineligible for child support if that child marries, is removed from disability status by a court order, or the child dies. Texas


How can you continue to receive child support after a child turns 18 years in the state of Texas if the child is in college?

Only with a modified order. Texas law does not provide for it. See link.


At what age is child support stopped for a child?

Most times the agreement is that the child will be supported through college. If they turn 18 and do not continue with school, then child support ends.


Can child support continue if she has finished school and works full time but lives with parent?

Child support is paid as long as the child is a minor, get emancipated or when the child support agreement says so.


Dose Child Support stop at 18 in Texas?

Yes, provided child is not in high school.


Do you still have to pay child support in TN if child is 18 but still in high school?

Yes you do, and you will have to continue child support if the child goes to college as a full-time student.


What if child in Texas is 19 and his class graduates and he does not are you still responsible for child support?

It depends. Texas statue states 18 or graduation from high school whichever is later. However, if the child has purposely not attended school, etc...you can request a review and stop child support.


In Texas does a refund of overpayment of child support terminate the child support order after graduation from high school?

Contact Texas Fathers For Equal Rights for the answer, see link below.


If an 18 year old high school students in Texas moves out on their own who receives the child support. Does it continue?

The court would likely first consider whether the child is emancipated. If so, it seems likely that support would be terminated.


Does child support continue when a 17 year old drops out of high school?

Yes, it does.


What age do you stop paying child support in Texas?

Child support in Texas ends when the child reaches the age of 18 or graduates from high school whichever comes LAST. Additionally, if the child marries or becomes emancipated you can request that your support payments stop.


Do you have to pay child support if the child is in height school and is 18?

You should review the child support order and if it doesn't state the child support should continue then notify the court. You may no longer be required to pay.You should review the child support order and if it doesn't state the child support should continue then notify the court. You may no longer be required to pay.You should review the child support order and if it doesn't state the child support should continue then notify the court. You may no longer be required to pay.You should review the child support order and if it doesn't state the child support should continue then notify the court. You may no longer be required to pay.


Can the mother of an unmarried 17 year old with a child continue to collect child support if the child is not in school?

Yes, until the child reaches the age of 18. However if your child continues school, you get child support until the age of 21 or until he/she is no longer enrolled and attending school.


Is high school attendance by a minor child mandatory in order for the custodial parent to continue receiving child support payments?

While elementary school is mandatory, high school is not. Unless the support order specifically states that the child needs to be attending high school in order for support to be paid, the answer is "NO".


In state of kentucky do you have to pay child support after child is 18?

If there is no child support owed that is in arrears, for Kentucky child support orders, the child support order ends when the child turns 18, unless he or she is still enrolled in high school, in which case child support would continue through the school year in which the child turns 19. Under certain circumstances, child support may continue past the child turning 18 (or 19 if still in high school) if ordered by the court. If the support order is for more than one child, the support obligation will not automatically end when one of the children reaches 18 (or 19 if still in high school) unless that child is the youngest child or the child support order listed a separate amount of child support for each child. If neither of these conditions exists, a request for a review of the child support obligation must be submitted before any change in the obligation amount can be made. If child support is in arrears, it will continue until the past due amount is completely satisfied.


What is the legal age for child support to stop?

18 unless the child support order provides for payments to continue as long as the child is in school full time working on a degree.