Was Libya always called Libya?

Libya is a colonial name devised by the Italians when they occupied Libya. Before colonial rule, Libya was divided into three Islamic emirate kingdoms.

After defeating the Ottoman Empire in North Africa, Italy ruled the region from 1912 to 1943, originally as Italian North Africa. The name Libya was applied to the three provinces of Tripolitania, Fezzan, and Cyrenaica in 1934.