Best Answer

1933 - Ivan Bunin - "for the strict artistry with which he has carried on the classical Russian traditions in prose writing"

1958 - Boris Pasternak - "for his important achievement both in contemporary lyrical poetry and in the field of the great Russian epic tradition" (forced to decline by Soviet Union)

1965 - Mikhail Sholokhov - "for the artistic power and integrity with which, in his epic of the Don, he has given expression to a historic phase in the life of the Russian people"

1970 - Alexsandr Solzhenitsyn - "for the ethical force with which he has pursued the indispensable traditions of Russian literature"

1987 - Joseph Brodsky - "for an all-embracing authorship, imbued with clarity of thought and poetic intensity" (he was part English)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-20 15:48:46
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Elie Wiesel

27 cards

Did Susan b Anthony made penny's

What qualities make Elie Wiesel a leader

How did the Nazis limit the rights of Jews living in German-occupied countries

How does Wiesel create pathos in his Nobel prize acceptance speech

See all cards
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What Russians have won the Nobel Prize for literature?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked