Asked in
History of the United States
US Presidents

What US president was elected four times?


User Avatar
Wiki User
April 18, 2017 12:46PM

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (FDR) was the only U.S. President elected to four terms: 1932, 1936, 1940 and 1944. He died on April 12, 1945, only three months into his fourth term, and was succeeded by his Vice President, Harry Truman.

On February 27, 1951, almost 7 years after FDR's death, the 22nd Amendment to the Constitution was ratified essentially limiting the term of the U.S. President to two 4-year terms.* Prior to the 22nd Amendment, there was no limit on the number of terms a President could service. Prior to FDR, Presidents followed a precedent set by George Washington to only serve two terms, even though they were not required to limit themselves.

*The 22nd Amendment actually allows an individual to serve a maximum of 10 years as President, but they can only be elected as President for 2 terms. In order for an individual to serve as President for 10 years, they would have to first be Vice President and assume the Presidency with less than 2 years remaining of the outgoing President's term, and then win 2 terms as President.