answersLogoWhite

0

Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
New York

What age can you legally move out of your parents house in the state of New York?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-08-22 17:51:41

18

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

Can you move out of your parents house at 16 in New York without their permission?

NO. You need to be 18 years old to legally move out of your parents house. Even if you have permission or not.


How many people can legally live in one house in the State of New York?

How many people can legally live one house in the state will depend upon the size of the house. It will also depend upon the number of bedrooms.


Can you move out of your parents' house in New York if you are 18?

Yes. You are 18 so you are legally an adult and can if you wish.


Can a parent kick an 18 year old out of the house legally in New York State.?

Yes, they can tell them to get out of their home. Once the child is an adult, age 18, the parents are no longer legally responsible for them. They can even charge them with trespassing if they don't leave


How can a 17 year old female legally move out of her parents house in new york?

By having parental consent to move out.


Can you legally move out at 16 in New York state with out being emancipated?

If you have parental permission. Until you are an adult, 18 in New York, your parents are responsible for you. That includes determining where you live.


How can you leave your house legally at 17 in New York State?

The simplest way is to have permission. Without it, you really have to wait until you are an adult.


Are you emancipated in New York State if you move out of your parents house?

Moving out does not emancipate you. In New York you must be 18 to move out without permission.


Can a 16 year old leave home at 16 legally in new york state?

The age of majority in New York is 18. Until then you are the responsibility of your parents. They determine where you live and much of what you can do.


When can a fifteen year old living in New York City legally get a piercing?

New York State law sets the age of majority -- when you legally become an adult -- at 18. Up until then you cannot legally allow this procedure, although your parents or guardians can at their option. Otherwise it's your 18th birthday.


If a 16-year-old girl wants to move out in the state of New York can she do it legally?

Not legally, the legal age of majority in the state of New York is eighteen.


Can a 16 year old pregnant teenager move out of the house in new york state?

The only way a child (anyone under the age of 18) can legally move out of the house is by emancipation. There is no emancipation status in New York. Refer to the link on the left "emancipation laws by state".


How can a 17-year-old female legally move out of her parents' house in the state of New York?

The state of New York does not have official emancipation status. The court accepts and adjudicates emancipation petitions based on their individual merits. Contacting the clerk of the court in the county in which you reside can assist you in obtaining more specific information.


Can you leave your house legally at age 17 in New York if your household is absolutley crazy and your parents can never talk about anything especially about you?

If you leave home without your parents permission, then they can have you picked up and returned home.


When can a 17 year old leave home legally in NY state?

When they are no longer 17. The age of majority in New York is 18. Until then the minor is the responsibility of the parents.


How do you get an emancipation from your parents in the state of New York?

New York Sorry, there is no emancipation status in this state.


Can you legally drop out of school at 16 in New York with parental consent?

You can legally drop our of school at age 16 in New York, if your parents agree. If your parents do not agree, you must remain in school until you graduate or until you turn 18.


How old does a child have to be to legally move out in new york state?

18


What are the 2 parts of the New York legislature?

The State Senate is the "upper house" of the New York State Legislature and the State Assembly is the "lower house".


Is it legal to have a painted turtle in New York state?

Yes, you can have a painted turtle legally in New York..


If you are an adopted child in New York under 21 and your parents refuse to take care of you or let you in the house what can you do about it Arent they legally responsible for you until you are 21?

No, unless the child is legally handicapped, the parents are only responsible for the child's welfare up to the age of 18. If the parents refuse to care for a child under the age of 18, they may be arrested for child neglect.


Is there a New York state law about children sharing a bedroom with their parents?

no there isn't a New York state law about children sharing or sleeping in the bedroom with their parents.


When are you legally an adult in New York State?

At the same age as every other U.S. state: 18.


How many state representatives are there in New York state?

There are 150 assemblymen in the New York State Assembly, the lower house of the New York state legislature.


Can a 17-year-old legally live with an adult in New York?

NO Stay at home with your parents and go to school. Not legally as the age of majority for the state is 18. What if anything might be done about the situation depends upon the individual circumstances.