Best Answer

Only the Black Sea is connected to the Mediterranean by the intervening Sea of Marmara. However, within the Mediterranean itself there are subdivisions also known as seas. These are:

  • the Strait of Gibraltar;
  • the Alboran Sea, between Spain and Morocco;
  • the Balearic Sea, between mainland Spain and its Balearic Islands;
  • the Ligurian Sea between Corsica and Liguria (Italy);
  • the Tyrrhenian Sea enclosed by Sardinia, Italian peninsula and Sicily;
  • the Ionian Sea between Italy, Albania and Greece;
  • the Adriatic Sea between Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Albania;
  • the Aegean Sea between Greece and Turkey.

Finally, the Suez Canal connects the Mediterranean with the Red Sea.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 19:05:07
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


8 cards

When was Moscow the most populated City in Europe

Which country refused to join the European Union

Which describes Europe

What are all the religions in Southern Europe

See all cards
No Reviews
More answers
User Avatar


Lvl 1
โˆ™ 2020-06-05 11:02:43


This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are all seas in the Mediterranean sea area?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked