Asked in

What are some countries in Australia?


User Avatar
Wiki User
October 22, 2012 7:55PM

The continent of Australia has only one country, but it is divided into six states and two territories. These include Western Australia (WA), South Australia (SA), Queensland (QLD), Victoria (VIC), New South Wales (NSW) and Tasmania (TAS), as well as the Northern Territory (NT) and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT). The capital of Australia is Canberra, which is located in the Australian Capital Territory.

In addition, there are seven offshore territories, none of which are countries.