Asked in
History of Ireland

What are some of the states of Ireland?


User Avatar
Wiki User
October 01, 2012 10:38PM

Semantics here, I presume the questioner is American. Ireland that is to say the Republic of Ireland (or Éire) is a sovereign state. Northern Ireland is a country and part of the state "the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland".

However I'm guessing you mean the equivalent of an American federal state. Ireland either north or south doesn't have the equivalent of US states which have their own considerable powers and legislation. There are however 4 provinces in Ireland:- Munster Leinster Connacht and Ulster (historically there were 5 - Meath). These then contain counties. Because of the split of Ulster between Ireland and Northern Ireland there are 26 counties in Ireland and 6 in Northern Ireland. Ulster is the split province containing 9 counties 3 of which are in the South the other 6 in the North. See the related question below.