Mapping and Cartography
Borders and Boundaries

What country shares a border with the most other countries?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2016-04-19 13:17:39
2016-04-19 13:17:39

CHINA and RUSSIA each share a common border with 14 other countries. According to the CIA, the countries and length of their borders are:

China: Afghanistan 76 km; Bhutan 470 km; India 3,380 km; Kazakhstan 1,533 km; North Korea 1,416 km; Kyrgyzstan 858 km; Laos 423 km; Mongolia 4,673 km; Myanmar (Burma) 2,185 km; Nepal 1,236 km; Pakistan 523 km; Russia 3,645 km; Tajikistan 414 km; and Vietnam 1,281 km.

Russia: Azerbaijan 284 km; Belarus 959 km; China 3,645 km; Estonia 294 km; Finland 1,313 km; Georgia 723 km; Kazakhstan 6,846 km; North Korea 19 km; Latvia 217 km; Lithuania 227 km; Mongolia 3,441 km; Norway 167 km; Poland 206 km; and Ukraine 1,576 km. (Note: Lithuania and Poland only border Kaliningrad, a Russian section separated from the rest of the country.)

HOWEVER, if you count the de facto countries of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, Russia actually borders 16 other countries, which would make it the country that borders the largest number of countries in the world.


Related Questions

Austria. Other countries bordering Switzerland are Liechtenstein, Italy, France and Germany.

Cuba is an island, so it shares no borders with other countries.

Myanmar, previously known as Burma, shares a border with 5 other countries.

Scotland shares the boarder with England. Wales shares the boarder with England. Ireland shares the boarder with Northern Ireland. Norway shares her boarder with Sweden. How much should you trust that answer ^ since they cant spell border.......

FranceThe other countries bordering Switzerland are Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein. and Italy.

Spain shares a border with France, Portugal, Andorra, United Kingdom, and Morocco.

Germany shares borders with # Denmark # The Netherlands # Belgium # Luxembourg # France # Switzerland # Austria # Czech Republic # Poland

Lithuania shares a border with the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad on its west. Other countries with land borders with Russia, to their west, are Kazakhstan and Mongolia. Those with sea borders are the US and Japan.

Scotland shares a common border with England but has no border with any other country.

The two countries share a common border. Spain is the only country Portugal shares a border with, the only other boundary being the Atlantic Ocean.

Australia shares no land border with any other country. It is surrounded entirely by oceans and seas.

Yes, it shares it boarder with a number of other countries.

It is Afghanistan. Afghanistan is known as landlocked country because is surrounded by other countries on all sides. Pakistan shares its border with Afghanistan on Western border.

Brazil shares a border with the following countries:1- Guyana2- Suriname3- Venezuela4- Colombia5- Bolivia6- Peru7- Argentina8- Paraguay9- Uruguay10- French Guiana

The Philippines shares no land borders with other nations. It is a country composed entirely of islands, just like Japan is.None

Jamacia is an island in the Carribean Sea. Therefore it shares no borders with other countries.

None. Brazil and Argentina are the only countries which border Uruguay, and neither are landlocked.While Paraguay does not share borders with Uruguay, it is landlocked and shares borders with Bolivia, Brazil, and Argentina, just north of Uruguay.

All countries share borders, although these may not always be land borders. Australia, for example, shares no land borders with any other country, but it does have maritime borders with other countries.

Russia is the largest country in the world. The country borders 16 other countries.

basically 17 fiftieths or 34 percent but the answer is complicated by the fact that one of the states shares borders with 2 other countries

India shares its border with Pakistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Myanmar and China. Also Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Tibet are other countries which are only few Km away from Indian border.

Spain shares borders with France, Portugal, Andorra, Morocco, and the UK. Pick any other country and it will not share a border with Spain.

There is no Australian state which shares a border with all other states. No state except for Victoria shares a land border with Tasmania. South Australia shares a border with all mainland states and the Northern Territory.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.