What does clearing your cache mean?

Your browser will save web pages that you have visited in a file on your hard drive in order to increase the speed at which your browser opens that same site again. If you clear your cache, you delete all of those old web pages. That frees up disk space and also makes it difficult for somebody else to see where you have been visiting.