answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-09-16 06:13:10

Since there are different rules for loans for a rental versus a primary home, the mortgage company can call the loan, especially if you misrepresent the reason for getting the loan. Usually, there is a rule that it needs to be a primary home for a period of time, for the purpose of tax on capital gains when you sell it. Also, if you are living in a home you own already, they will want you to have a signed lease agreement for that. If you buy a home to rent out, then you'll probably need a signed lease for it, too.

Furthermore, you may no longer qualify for owner/occupant benefits on your taxes and insurance, among other things, if you are no longer living there.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Is it illegal to buy and sell semi automatic guns?

So long as they're legally possessed, and legal to own both in your state of residence and the state of residence of the person buying them, no.


US Presidents whose primary state of residence was Illinois?

Lincoln and Obama fit that profile.


Can a deficiency judgment on a property in one state force a sale on a primary residence in another state.?

It depends on the state where the primary residence is located. For instance, in the State of Florida, the answer would be "no". The Florida Constitution provides a homestead protection against the efforts of creditors to levy on one's primary residence. However, a judgment creditor could record a certified copy of the judgment in the county where the Florida primary residence was located and thereby effectuate a lien on the property. This would keep the judgment debtor from being able to refinance the home or make other efforts to pull equity out of the home. In order to determine the answer to this question for the state in which you are located, you should seek legal counsel licensed to practice in your state.


What are homestead act provisions?

Homestead Act provisions vary from state to state but generally prohibit the siezure of a primary residence by creditors.


Will Nevada state issue a drivers license to a person when their California drivers license is suspended for DUI?

Absolutely not. The upper 50 states all run off of the same system. If your license is suspended in the state of your primary residence, you cannot get a drivers license in any other state until your status in your primary state changes. This even applies if you change your state of residence.


How do you insure your car if you work half the year in another state?

I would think it is based on your primary residence. That is how it works in MA


Do you need a new drivers license when visiting out of state for 6 months?

Not unless you're doing anything to establish residence in that state, such as getting a job or buying property.


How many acres can you homestead in Florida?

100 billion acres Not even close to accurate. Correct answer is up to one-half acre with a house that is your primary residence inside of a municipality, or up to 160 acres with a house that is your primary residence in an area of the state that is not a part of a municipality.


How long after move to Tennessee before I am required to change over driver's license?

IIRC, within 30 days of having established residence in that state (ownership of property which serves as a primary residence or employment).


Does it pay to become a Florida resident when buying a home?

Yes, it could be worthwhile (assuming the home is your primary residence) you can qualify for a "homestead exemption" allowable by state law. This will reduce your property taxes considerably. In addition, Florida is one of few states which protects your primary residence from being seized in bankruptcy proceedings. In the event that you must declare bankruptcy Florida law prevents your home from being seized as an asset, thus putting you in danger of losing it.


Can you keep your house if declairing bankruptcy?

It depends on what type of bankruptcy your are filing, if the home is your primary residence and not an investment property, how much you owe, and if you are behind on your payments. It also depends on the state you are filing in.Usually, your house, if it is a primary residence, many states will allow you to keep your house as an exemption.


What percentage can your homestead be sued for?

Question is unclear. If your particular state allows for "homesteading" it is my understanding that the 'homesteaded' property cannot be seized in bankruptcy or lien action.AnswerThe limits under Homestead Protection Acts vary from state to state. In some states the primary residence is protected. In Some states the protection for the primary residence is limited to a dollar amount. For example, the protection in Massachusetts is limited to $500,000.


Arizona is a non-deficiency state does this apply to mortgages?

Absolutely!!! That is the only type of loan that it applies too and it must be primary residence.


In Florida can there be a lien for child support on a primary residence?

yes But note that a large percentage of these liens turn out to be due to accounting errors by the state.


If you travel the states for 2 years do you need to change your auto insurance in each state or do you continue to use your original insurance?

You are required to maintain your auto insurance in your state of primary residence. It will follow you when you travel or visit other states. The key here is "Residence". If you take up residence in any of the states that you travel too, then you are required to notify your insurer and change your insurance within 30 days of taking up residence. You are also required to obtain a drivers license in your new state of residence within 30 days.


I had a fight in self-defence and if I'm sued can i lose my home even if i have insurance?

You do not give your state of residence - in some states your primary residence is immune from siezure via legal action (other than foreclosure, that is).


Where is Kenya's president residence?

State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.State House is the official residence of the President of Kenya and it is in the capital city, Nairobi.


If you have insurance on your car from another state what happens if you do not change the insurance to the new state you live and work in?

If you have made this new State your primary residence state, your insurance company may require after one year that you register your car and your license in your new state. The auto insurance should follow the registered state, and if you are a permanent resident, then you should register your car and re-write a new auto policy for that state.


Sample of proof of residence letter?

A proof of residence letter will state that you have lived at the residence for a certain amount of time. It can also state the amount that you pay for rent or your mortgage.


Can you have a primary residence in one state and operate a business from another state?

Unless the laws governing your business's operations, or the state's licensure regulations, require to be a resident of the state in which your business is located, you can be a resident of one state and the owner of a business in another.


Is it true that if your parents are divorced and that your ten or older you can choose witch parent you want to live with?

No, not if you live in the United States. A child has to reach the designated age of majority for their state of residence to make any changes to their primary residence without court order and in every state, the youngest age for that is 18.


Can you buy a car if your license is from a state other than the state you are buying the car?

Yes. Infact, you don't even need a license to buy an automobile. Yes and not only that, if you can come up with an out-of-state residence, you MIGHT be able to get out of paying sales tax.


What is biden state of residence?

Delaware


Is a primary residence protected from Medicaid?

Homestead property is not a bar to receiving Medicaid. However, the State may file a lien on the property, payable when it is sold or otherwise transferred.


Can senators live in a different state?

No. They have to have a residence in the state they are elected.