History of Science

What is meant by the biological hierarchy?

User Avatar
Wiki User
February 20, 2011 3:43AM

The biological hierarchy refers to the different levels of classification from domain to species (eight levels). The three domains are Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya, while the types of species number in the high hundred thousands or low millions. Each organism can be classified into a race and then taxonomically into species, genus, family, order, class, phylum, kingdom, and then domain.