What is section 8 housing?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-12-10 23:49:24

Best Answer

Section 8 housing is government subsidized housing for low-income persons.

Section 8 Housing is one of two programs: the Voucher program (known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program), and the Public Housing program, which, instead of a voucher, provides a home from a property owned by a Government agency (typically a Housing Authority). In both cases the rent paid by the Tenant is adjusted according to the number of members and income of the family.

On the Voucher Program, the more popular type, a voucher is issued by a Housing Authority, which guarantees that the federal Government, HUD, will pay its portion of the tenant's rent (the tenant pays the rest, which is not more than 30 percent of his income).

Some rural apartment complexes are financed with Government-guaranteed, low-interest loans and tax incentives to house low-income renters. These complexes, known as Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) properties, have their own programs which allows low-income families to rent their units at a rent commensurate with their income. These are not Section 8 programs but are administered by HUD and USDA, Rural Development. Some urban complexes may have similar programs.

Additionally, some states and localities may have their own programs which supplement these federal programs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-12-10 23:49:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


3 cards

A horse lives in a

A goat lives on aย 

U S A lives on aย 

See all cards
26 Reviews
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-02-20 04:21:47

Section 8 housing is a federal government program that allows very low-income families to live in affordable, privately owned rental housing at a fraction of the cost (typically around 30% of the family's income). In order to obtain section 8 housing, one must apply for it. You'll be put on a waiting list that usually lasts three to five years, and, if accepted, then you can be on section 8 housing. The reduction in rent is tremendous, and is well worth looking into if you qualify.

Section 8 housing, also known as HUD is a program run by the government for affordable housing for low income people. These people are able to pay only what they can afford towards rent.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-13 18:22:26

Section 8 housing is a federal program that offers vouchers and assistance for housing. It is based on the tenents ability to pay and their income.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is section 8 housing?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How do to cancel section 8 housing voucher?

section 8 housing

If you get convited of a crime while on section 8 can you be taken off section 8 And if you are a felon can you get section 8 /?

No, you cannot receive Section 8 housing if you have a felony. If you are convicted of a crime while on Section 8 housing, you will lose the housing. you can get section 8 as long as the felony 3 years old am I a felon?

What does the section 8 in section 8 housing refer to?

section 8 is a housing program for low income families. which is much better than public housing,You must have heard in the Military section 8 means your crazy.Sothe housing should have picked a better term so its not demeaning. "Section 8" refers to the act of Congress which created it. It was established as part of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974. The part of that Act which created this program was an amendment of Section 8 of the U.S. Housing Act of 1937. Hence the name "Section 8 Housing".

Section 8 Housing?

form_title= Section 8 Housing form_header= Find Section 8 Housing in your area. Have you lived in Section 8 housing before?*= () Yes () No How many bedrooms do you need?*= {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, More than 5} What is your desired neighborhood?*= _ [50]

Does Boston have section 8 housing?

Yes Boston does have section 8 housing. Check out the Boston Housing Authority web page to see if you qualify.

Do they advertise section 8 housing on

Yes, they advertise section 8 housing on You can see them at advertise section 8 housing on Section 8 (government subsidized housing) is advertised in most online rental websites.'s advanced search allows you to search for words in the description so you can insert Section 8 here.

What do you have to do to have your home be a section 8 home?

you apply for section 8 at your local housing authority and if you qualify you can get section 8

Is section 8 housing voucher the same to section 236?


When you apply for section 8 housing is there a physical section 8 housing list?

Yes, there is a physical section 8 housing list when you apply. You can read more information at

Can I receive my mother's Section 8 housing voucher by proxy?

This is a question to ask the Housing Authority that is administering the Section 8 Program.

What is a section 8 house?

Section 8 housing are houses that are subsidized by the government for low income families. These houses are sponsored by the US Housing and Urban Development department to assist families in need of housing. They are call "Section 8" because of section #8 of the Housing Act of 1937. Depending of the area of the US, Section 8 housings can range from good to deplorable living conditions.

What do you do to get on section 8 housing?

Apply. Check with you local Housing Authority there.

People also asked