Best Answer

The George Washington "golden dollar" (actually made of brass, as was the Sacajawea coin) was minted as the first coin in the Presidential dollar series mandated in 2005. The Washington coin was issued in 2007 and the coins featuring subsequent US Presidents will be issued through 2016. Every President will have a coin, provided they have been deceased for 2 years on the scheduled date of issue.

As of 2012, the coins are being produced only for collectors, and not for circulation, due to a huge surplus of the coins (which includes some Sacajawea dollar coins).

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the George Washington dollar coin?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass