What is the capital of Canada?

The capital of Canada is Ottawa, Ontario. It was named the national capital by Queen Victoria on December 31, 1857, but the government did not move there until 1866.

The capital of Canada was Kingston Ontario from 1841 to 1844. Canada was then called the United Province of Canada and consisted of what are now the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The capital was moved to Montreal, Quebec in 1844, and then moved to Toronto, Ontario in 1849 after a mob burned the Montreal Parliament buildings. It was moved to Quebec City in the Province of Quebec from 1851 until it moved back to Toronto from 1856 to 1859. Parliament temporarily moved back to Quebec City from 1860 until the Ottawa Parliament buildings were constructed in 1866. The Dominion of Canada was formed in 1867 with Ottawa remaining as its capital.

The name "Ottawa" (Odawa) is from an Algonquian tribe that inhabited the region.