Countries, States, and Cities

What is the capital of Iraq?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2017-12-01 02:14:50

The capital city of Iraq is Baghdad.

However, because of the increasing semi-independence of Iraqi

Kurdistan and the recent (2014) violence in Sunni-dominated Anbar

province and nearby Sunni-majority areas, the government in Baghdad

does not directly control large portions of the country. Therefore,

Iraq effectively has three capitals: Baghdad: the

headquarters of the Iraqi Government, Erbil/Hewlêr

(International vs. Kurdish name): the headquarters of the Iraqi

Kurdistani government, and Ar-Raqqa (in Syria):

the headquarters of the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant, which

controls swathes of western Iraq.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.