Zoology or Animal Biology

What is the classification of a whale?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2014-06-27 21:59:08

Whales are a part of the animal kingdom. They are part of the phylum chordata, class Mammalia. There are several different orders, families, and species of whales.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

What is the classification of the whale shark?


What classification is killer whale?


What is the classification of a blue whale?

a mammal

What is a classification for a killer whale?

The killer whale, also referred to as the orca, is a toothed whale belonging in the oceanic dolphin family.

What is a killer whales classification?

The killer Whale (Orca) is actually not a whale (neither toothed or Baleen) but is a giant dolphin.

What classification is dolphins whales and killer whale in?

Orcas are the largest dolphin of all.

Why is a killer whale called a dolphin?

because its long and stretchy Answer 2 Because they are of the Dolphin family rather than whale group of the species classification.

What are the 7 levels of classification for a whale?

Kingdom phylum class order family genus my mother(:

What is the scientific name or taxonomic classification of the mammal Fin whale?

The scientific or taxonomic name would be Balaenoptera physalus.

What classification is a whale?

In business, especially entrepreneurial businesses, one is classified as a whale if one has lots of money to invest. Other classifications include angel investors, stockholders, banks and so forth.

Is a whale classification is plankton?

Are you asking if whales are plankton? In which case, no they aren't If you're asking do they eat plankton, then yes, most do.

How much is whale blood worth in money per liter?

$80.00 - $110.00, depending on the age of the blood and the classification of the species from which it is attained.

What is the scientific classification of a Killer whale?

The Killer whale (Orcinus orca) is the toothed whale that belongs to the oceanic dolphin family. They are an apex predator that preys upon Great white sharks as well as Polar bears. NOTHING preys on them, except humans.See the related link below for more info:

What kind of whale ate Jonah?

It was not a whale. The book of Jonah clearly staes that Jonah was swallowed by a big fish, and a whale is not a fish. We are not told what sort of fish it was. It is quite conceivable that, for the time frame that the story was written in, it could have been likely that the "big fish" was in fact a whale. To many people, scientific classification and terms did not apply, and even though a whale is indeed a mammal, it swims and lives in the ocean, which could have possibly led many to believe that it was a big fish.

Which whale is the biggest whale the whale shark or the blue whale?

The blue whale is bigger than the whale shark. The whale shark is not a whale.

What is the smallest whale to the largest whale from smallest to largest?

Killer Whale,sperm whale,fin whale,minke whale,humpback whale,sei whale,right whale,blue whale

What kinds of whale are there?

Blue Whale Orca/ Killer Whale Gray Whale Humpback Whale Sai Whale Fin Whale Beluga Whale Sperm Whale Bowhead Whale Right Whale Long- Finned Pilot Whale Pilot Whale Narwhal Beaked WHale and many more...

What breeds of whale live in the Antarctic?

Arnoux's beaked whaleBlue whaleDwarf sperm whaleFin whaleGray's beaked whaleHumpback whaleMinke whaleAntarctic minke whalePygmy right whalePygmy sperm whaleSei whaleSouthern bottlenose whaleSouthern right whaleSperm whaleStrap-toothed whale

How many different species of whales are there?

There are 79 currently known species of whales.and they are› Andrews' Beaked WhaleAntarctic Minke WhaleArnoux's Beaked WhaleBaird's Beaked WhaleBeluga WhaleBlainville's Beaked WhaleBlue WhaleBowhead WhaleBryde's WhaleCommon Minke WhaleCuvier's Beaked WhaleDwarf Sperm WhaleFalse Killer WhaleFin WhaleGinkgo-toothed Beaked WhaleGray's Beaked WhaleGrey WhaleHector's Beaked WhaleHubbs' Beaked WhaleHumpback WhaleKiller WhaleLayard's Beaked WhaleLong Finned Pilot WhaleLongmans Beaked WhaleNarwhal WhaleNorth Atlantic Right WhaleNorth Pacific Right WhaleNorthern Bottlenose WhaleNorthern Minke WhalePerrin's Beaked WhalePilot WhalePygmy Beaked WhalePygmy Bryde's WhalePygmy Killer WhalePygmy Right WhalePygmy Sperm WhaleSei WhaleShepherd's Beaked WhaleSouthern Bottlenose WhaleSouthern Minke WhaleSperm WhaleStejneger's Beaked Whalesome of them i think

What are the classification of constitution?

what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution what are the classification of a constitution

What are the whales that are near New Zealand?

Some species of whale near New Zealand would be: Souther Right Whale, Minke Whale, Bryde's Whale, Blue Whale, Fin Whale, Humpback Whale, Pygmy Right Whale, Spectacled Porpoise, Sperm Whale, Pygmy Sperm Whale, Dwarf Spermy Whale, Cuvier's Beaked Whale, Giant Beaked Whale, Shepherd's Beaked Whale, Bottlenose Whale, Andrew's Beaked Whale, Blainville's Beaked Whale, Ginkgo-toothed Beaked Whale, Hector's Beaked Whale, Layard's Beaked Whale and the Pilot Whale.

Is the blue whale a toothed whale or a ballen whale?

The blue whale is a baleen whale.

What species of whales are being killed?

There are 13 species of great whales many of which exist as separate populations in the North Atlantic, North Pacific and Southern Hemisphere oceans: Bowhead (or Greenland right whale), North Atlantic right whale, North Pacific right whale, Southern right whale, Gray whale, Blue whale, Fin whale, Sei whale, Bryde's whale, Common minke whale, Antarctic minke whale, Humpback whale and Sperm whale. The first twelve of these are baleen (whalebone) whales, filter feeders with baleen plates instead of teeth and the sperm whale is the largest toothed whale. Out of these species of whales eight of them are classed as 'endangered' species and one classed as 'vulnerable' species. The rest have either been classed as 'least concerned' or 'Data Deficient'. DD means no sufficient data about that particular species to make a valid classification of the conservation status/threat the species is in. However, for the whales that is classed as 'DD' is most likely either threatened of a vulnerable species.

What are 5 whale species?

Five popular whale species: -Gray whale -Sperm whale -Blue whale -Humpback whale -Beluga whale

What is the scientific name or taxonomic classification of the mammal Long-finned pilot whale?

The scientific or taxonomic name would be Globicephala melas (formerly Globicephala melaena).

Still have questions?