answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The procedure for emancipation of a minor is established by the laws of the state in which the underage person lives. Only a few states have grounds and procedures for filing a petition of emancipation, the average filing and court fee is $250. All states that allow emancipation with the exception of Wisconsin, require the minor to be represented by legal counsel. Attorney fees average $800-$1000, depending upon whether or not the petition is contested, if contested legal costs can be considerably more. The minor must prove he or she is capable of conducting their personal and financial affairs and must be gainfully employed earning enough income to pay for food, shelter, medical care, transportation, education, and so forth. In most cases the parents must agree to the emancipation and in all states any interested party (parents, guardian, grandparents, counselors, law enforcement officers, etc.) have contestation rights. Emancipation decrees are rarely granted and the court reserves the right to rescind the right and place the minor into the care of the state at any time, for any reason, before the minor reaches the age of majority.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-01-10 13:56:42
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the cost and procedure for the emancipation of a minor?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is the legal procedure for the emancipation of a minor in the state of Georgia?

There is no emancipation statute in Georgia.


What are the emancipation laws in Georgia?

The state does not have established grounds nor procedure for the emancipation of a minor.


What is the cost for the emancipation of a minor in Texas?

Texas does not have an emancipation statute so there is no cost set. You will have to wait until you become an adult. If you are not safe contact your local social services to get help.


Emancipation requirements Florida?

The parents or guardians can file for emancipation of a minor, the minor may not apply.


Where can you petition for emancipation in Florida?

The parents or guardians can file for emancipation of a minor, the minor may not apply.


How do you get emancipated in Michigan and how much does it cost?

The state of Michigan as almost every state that allows emancipation of minors has very limited reasons for allowing a minor to be emancipated. Michigan Code Chapter 722 "Emancipation By Operation of Law,..." allows for the minor to be emancipated if he or she is legally married or on active duty with the military, both require parental or guardian consent. Also for the minor to receive routine or emergency nonsurgical care or preventive health care. It DOES NOT allow a minor to move out of the family home and live on their own. Emancipation of a minor is an act which is greatly misunderstood. The very few states that allow the procedure have such stringent requirements that emancipation is very rarely (if ever) allowed. As a general rule, emancipation is only granted to minors who are involved in such things as professional sports or the entertainment field. In addition an emancipation decree can be rescinded by the court at any time.


Minor pregnancy emancipation?

If you are a pregnant minor seeking emancipation from your parents, you will need to talk to a lawyer to have this done.


Will the birth of a child by a minor result in emancipation?

No, having a child does not change the age of the minor and it does not grant emancipation.


If you are 17 and pregnant can you qualify for a medical card in the state of Missouri if you are emancipated?

Missouri does not have an emancipation procedure for minors, nor does being pregnant confer emancipation upon a minor. If however, the pregnant minor is in need of public assistance such as Medicaid, the court can grant emancipation rights on a limited or complete basis depending upon the individual circumstances.


What is the legal procedure for the emancipation of a minor when it is the gaurdian's idea and the child in question is pregnant and the child is already a ward of the state?

Who is the child living with? Who pays the support?


Can you move out of your parents' home if you get a job in the state of Georgia?

The legal age of majority for the state of Georgia is 18. The state does not have grounds nor procedure for the emancipation of a minor.


What are the procedures for a 17-year-old to become his own guardian?

There is no such legal procedure. There are a few states that allow a minor to petition for emancipation rights. Contact the office of the clerk of the probate court in the county where you reside to obtain the emancipation status of your state.


Can an emancipated minor who is a parent get welfare?

Yes It depends on whether the minor voluntarily petitioned for and received an emancipation decree or the court ordered the minor to be emancipated for judicial reasons. If emancipation is achieved by self-help it indicates said minor provided evidence to the court that she was able to support herself without adult involvement, therefore, she would not be eligible for public assistance unless there are mitigating circumstances. If the court ordered emancipation the minor and her child have already been deemed eligible for public aid and she should contact the state's department of family services for information on the application procedure. Please be advised, being pregnant or having a child does not automatically confer emancipation.


In Nebraska does a 16-year-old have a better chance of being granted emancipation if she is pregnant?

Nebraska does not allow the emancipation of minors. The legal age of majority is 19, in some cases a person who is at least 18 years of age can apply for a "waiver of minor age status". Pregnancy does not confer emancipation rights to a minor. In states that allow emancipation of a minor, a pregnant minor has less chance of being granted full emancipation rights than would a minor who is not pregnant, the premise being that a pregnant minor has shown themselves to be guilty of irresponsible conduct.


What are the Minor emancipation laws in North Dakota?

There is no statute that allows emancipation in North Dakota.


What is the legal age for emancipation of a minor in Arizona?

18 but you can apply for emancipation by the court at 16.


Emancipation age in NC?

In NC a minor has to be at least 16 before they can petition for emancipation.


Can a 15-year-old get emancipated in Alabama?

No. The minimum age for the emancipation of a minor is 16-years. The emancipation procedure concerning minors is often misunderstood, as it is assumed that a petitioner will be granted a decree if they qualify under the law. This is simply not true, a minor is very rarely granted emancipation rights in any state. The exception generally applies to a minor who is an established performer in the entertainment industry or professional sports (such as an athlete being drafted out of high school who has not reached the legal age of majority). If a minor is in an abusive or neglectful situation, the court usually makes said person a "ward of the state" rather than grant emancipation rights.


How do you emancipate a minor in California?

Here is a link to the Superior Court of CA on the subject of minor emancipation: http://www.saccourt.com/family/emancipation/emancipation.asp


What is the emancipation age in Texas?

The age of majority is 18. A minor can petition the court for emancipation at 16.


What are the requirements for emancipation if a minor wants to request it?

It depends on your state. Try searching for emancipation+[your state].


How do you find out the laws about child emancipation in your state?

Start by searching the internet. Your state + minor emancipation.


Does Indiana allow for a minor to file for emancipation prior to age 18?

No, they do not have an emancipation statute to allow it.


How does emancipation affect juvenile rights?

Emancipation gives the legal rights of adulthood to the emancipated minor.


Can a minor petition to you emancipation in Va?

Yes, if you weren't a minor you would not need to petition.