Law & Legal Issues
New York

What is the fine for doing thirty one miles over the posted speed limit in New York State?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2014-08-27 22:59:40
2014-08-27 22:59:40

If you are caught driving 31 miles over the posted speed limit in New York the minimum fine that you would pay would be $360 with the maximum being $600. The action may also carry prison time of not more than 30 days and place 8 penalty points against your driving record.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions



The maximum speed is the posted limit. If there is no posted limit, the maximum speed is set by the local or county government based on the laws of the specific state.


No it will not void the ticket. There are standard speed limits set by state statute which must be obeyed whether they are posted or not. Exceeding these can result in a violation.


(in the US) Unless otherwise posted, 25 mph is commonly the universal speed limit in populated areas of an urbanized environment. Other than that, every state has a maximum speed limit codified in their laws. You may not exceed the maximum speed limit for your state, whether it is posted or not.


The speed limit in a residential area with no posted speed limit varies by state. The average being 25-30 mph.


The posted speed limit is the max speed.



This un-posted speed limit may vary from state-to-state or even municipality to municipality - but a CUSTOMARY example would be 25 MPH. Check with your LOCAL authorities.




The maximum legal speed limit on a rural Interstate highway is the posted speed limit in the United States. Each state in the United States has different posted speed limits for Interstate highways and other highways.


There is a stretch of Texas state route 130 north of San Antonio with a posted speed limit of 85 mph (137 kph).


Ths limit varies from state to state. It is usually 25 mph or can be 30 mph. To be sure contact your local police or DMV office and ask.


Whatever the posted speed limit is.


The question does not give the state. In MOST states - the usual speed limit in a residential neighborhood is 25 MPH, unless otherwise posted.


In residential areas, it's typically 30 MPH. It really depends on the state.


POSTED, in this sense, means "publicly announced". Like the posted rules at a public swimming pool, or the posted speed limit.


You can be ticketed for traveling at an unsafe speed regardless of the speed limit.


It depends on what is posted, but the default speed limit if nothing is posted is 30 mph in residential areas.


The maximum speed limit for a residential area where no speed limit is posted is 35 miles per hour. The speed limit for a highway with no posted signs is generally 55 miles per hour.


If the posted speed is no safe at the time



No nobody should be driving below posted limit and it will speed them up as long as u back off slightly after they've achieved posted limit driving below or to high above posted limit causes more accidents then trying to make someone go the speed limit


When another speed limit sign is reached that changes the limit from the previously posted one.


Their is no word limit. I had posted on many forums but i dont find any word limit.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.