answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2008-06-24 23:00:15

There is no law in Wisconsin. The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legislated in two states and Wisconsin is not one of them. The legal check is whether or not the child is safe and has the ability to take care of themselves. Most authorities agree that leaving a 12 year old alone at home for an hour or two is acceptable, but they should not be responsible for other children. "First of all, there is no Wisconsin state law that dictates the minimum age at which a child can be left alone, but the age of 12 is often mentioned." - Prevent Child Abuse Wisconsin There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references.

One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).

012
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Your Answer

Related Questions


13 is the legal age for a child to be left alone in the US


what age is legal to leave your child home alone in new york


There is no legal age limit for leaving a child on their own, but it is an offence to leave a child alone if it places them at risk


TN has no law regulating the age a child must be to stay home alone


There is no legislated legal age. The parent has the responsibility to ensure that the child is properly cared for. The age at which a child is capable of being home alone varies by child and situation.


There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Missouri. However it is never recommended that a child younger than age 12 be left home alone at all.


There is no legal age for children to stay at home alone.


In Ontario, Canada it is not legal to leave a young child home alone overnight. After the age of 16, a child can be left alone over night.


A child can be left home alone at home only at the age of 13......


The legal age in California to leave a child home is 9 years old. There is no legal age set for leaving a child home in California, but there are guidelines. The legal status of leaving a child home alone all determines whether there are any disturbances within the neighborhood as a result of the child being left home alone. This means that the child must be both responsible and trustworthy in order to be named LEGAL.


The legal age for a child to stay home alone in North Dakota is 9 years and up (it is unlawful for leave a child under the age of 9 alone.)


the legal age is 12 if you think they are mature to be home alone but not under the age of 12 at all!


I think the legal age is 12 years old.


There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Virginia. However it is not recommended that any child be left home alone at all until at least age 12.


The state of Alaska does not have a latchkey law. This means there is no legal age at which a child can be left home alone. It is however not recommended that a child under age 12 be left alone without a parent or guardian present.


A child can legally stay home by themselves at 12 years of age.


There is no 'legal age' in England, as it is judged on a case by case basis. The child who is left home alone must be responsible enough to be able to respond in an emergency.


In the state of Georgia, a child can legally be left home alone at age 8. This is not however recommended. No child should be left home alone until they are at least 12. And they should never be left home alone overnight.


What is the legal age in ohio to leave a child home alone overnight?


Legal Age The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legislated in two states, Maryland and Illinois. The legal check is whether or not the child is safe and has the ability to take care of themselves. Most authorities agree...


In the state of Illinois, the legal age to leave a child home alone is 14. Illinois is one of only 13 states that have a latch key law on the books.


In the state of Illinois, the legal age to stay home alone is age fourteen. Any parent that has a child under the age of fourteen who is left home alone will be charged with abandonment.


There is no law about what age a child can stay home alone in Wisconsin. It is generally accepted as age 12, however, the child's maturity is also taken into consideration. A 12 year old is deemed capable of baby sitting one other child. We learned this information first hand when my grandchildren were left home alone. Social services makes the determination, not the law and not the police.


"...there is no Wisconsin state law that dictates the minimum age at which a child can be left alone, but the age of 12 is often mentioned." - Prevent Child Abuse Wisconsin There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references.One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).


They can be left home at any time but the legal age is 12+.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.