answersLogoWhite

0

  • Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
  • Kentucky
  • Missouri

What is the legal age a person can move away from their home in Missouri?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-07-14 00:16:29

Best Answer
Copy

I found this answer on a child custody website. It states that the legal age is 17, because of a loophole in the MO law.

There is not such a thing as a "loophole" in the age of majority law for Missouri, the age is 18.

The citing of a 17-year-old being an adult is contained in the juvenile code and it designates the age at which a minor can be charged as an adult and tried in an adult court.

There have been cases where custodial and child support issues have been disputed based on the juvenile code, such cases are dismissed for lack of merit.

The juvenile code is a completely separate issue and does not supercede the age of majority of 18.

2011-07-14 00:16:29
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What is the legal age a person can move away from their home in Missouri?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Is it legal to consume alcohol underage in your home with your legal guardian or parent in Missouri?

This is Legal in your home, with your parent or guardian ONLY


If you are sixteen and have a baby are you legal to move away from home in Missouri?

Not unless you've been emancipated. Having a child does not emancipate a minor.


How old does an adopted teen have to be in Missouri in order to move away from home?

The legal age of majority in Missouri is 18, the issue of adoption is not relevant as it has no bearing. There is a misconception in the state of Missouri because of a stipulation in the juvenile code. The JC states that a person who is at least 17-years of age is an "adult". This law relates to court proceedings only and designates the age at which the person can be tried in an adult court it does not override the state's legal age which is 18.


What is the legal age to leave home in Missouri?

17


Is running away from home a crime in Missouri?

no it is not crime


What is the age limit to move out of your legal guardians home in Missouri?

19


Is legal for a 17 year old to leave home in Missouri?

yes, actually. in the Midwest it is legal to leave home and start your career when you're 16.


Is legal for a 16 year old to leave home in Missouri?

You have to first be emancipated by law.


What is the legal age a child can be left alone overnight in Missouri?

There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Missouri. However it is never recommended that a child younger than age 12 be left home alone at all.


What age do you have to be to run away from home?

There is no legal age to "run away from home." You can leave home at 18 when you become an adult otherwise it is illegal to "run away" ( that's why it is called "running away.")


If a 17 year old leaves home and lives with a person can that person be prosecuted in Missouri?

Yep The 17 year old can be killed in missouri P.S. I love women


What is the legal age for a woman to move out of her parents house while she is pregnant in Missouri?

Here in the state of Missouri if the pregnant women wants to leave her home , then she should be 21 years or more.


At what age can a child move out of the parental home in Missouri?

You may move out at legal age of adulthood which is 18, or at 16 with your parents consent.


Will police force a 17 year old run away back home in the state of Missouri?

They will return them to their home. If there is an issue, they may put them in foster care.


What is the legal age for a person leave home in England?

16-years-old


If a person loses their home to the bank can the person renting that home still rent it?

Well, if the bank forecloses on the home, the bank is now the legal owner of the home, so the renter should probably contact the bank.


Is it legal for a 17-year-old to leave home in North Carolina without legal consequences?

If a 17 year old attempts to move out of the home there can be legal consequences. The minor can be charged as a run away and put in a home for children until 18 years of age.


Who plays Ruby in Home and Away?

The person who plays Ruby in home and away is called Rebecca Breeds! She is 24 years old but looks about 17!


When did singer Andy Williams die?

Andy Williams passed away on Sep 25, 2012 from cancer at his home in Branson, Missouri.


What age can a person in Louisiana leave home and not be considered a runaway?

When they are a legal adult, which is 18.


What rights does a 17 year old girl have with moving away from home in Australia?

A 17 year old girl does not have any rights when moving away from home in Australia as the legal age to move out is 18.


Can your 14year old babysit your 10month old?

Legally in Missouri, 13-year-olds can stay at home by yourself. It may not be the smartest thing to do but it's legal


Is it legal for a person to use your home address without your permission?

Yes, it is. It is also known as fraud.


Can a child in Ohio leave home at 18?

At age 18 a person is considered a legal adult.


If you were abused in an old home and sent away with another legal parent can you still get emancipated from the parent you live with now?

You can