What is the legal age for children to stay home alone in New Hampshire?
There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. NH, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages specified in their laws. New Hampshire has the most specific age law in HB 1557
HB1557 was proposed in 2006, but voted Inexpedient to pass in a house vote and died there. There are no specific ages listed in the New Hampshire state statutes.
For most other states, 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references.