answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There are two states that have set a minimum age of 13 (Maryland and Illinois). No other states have a law about what age someone has to be to be left alone. They are more concerned with the child's ability to take care of themself and has the means to do so. There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references.

One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-02-03 00:58:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the legal age when a child can be left home alone for a few hours after school in Colorado?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

In Colorado can you leave your 7 year old child at home alone?

There are no laws in Colorado that specifically address the age that a child can be left home alone. 7 is usually considered much too young to be left alone, and it could lead to child endangerment charges. Most authorities agree that a 12 year old can be safely left at home alone for a few hours during the day time.


What is the legal age a child can stay home alone in Denver?

Colorado has not legislated this. Most authorities believe that a 12 or 13 year old can be left home alone during the day for a few hours.


What age a child can stay home alone in Colorado?

No state but Illinois and Maryland have laws that actually state what age a child can stay home alone and the amount of time. However, there are basic guidelines put into effect across the country. Usually the youngest age a child can stay home alone is 8, but only a couple of hours. At age 13, a child can be left alone all day but not overnight. At age 16, a child can be left alone at anytime of day.


How many hours can a child work on a school day?

A child can work for about 3 hours on school days.


How old does a child need to be to stay alone for 5 hours in Florida?

How old can a child be to stay alone in the state of Florida?


How many hours does a child spend in school from elementary to high school?

The average child in China spend 7 and a half hours.


How many hours can a 14 year old work in Colorado?

In any state you can work for 3 hours in a school day and 8 in a non school day. Only 18 hours in a school week (monday-sunday) and 40 hours in a non school week.


Can you sue a school district for misplacement of a child?

I'd think so.During school hours at school,the school is responsable of the child.If the misplace the child,it was thier responsiblity


How long can a child stay alone Utah?

This depends on the age of the child. Children 12 and older are considered old enough to stay alone for a few hours and to babysit younger children.


What age can you leave a child alone in Germany?

In Germany, a child between the ages of 7 and 11 can stay home alone for up to 3 hours at a time. The child must have access to a phone to reach an adult though.


How many hours can your child rehearse in a school play in 1 day?

3 hours 60 hours 60 hours


Can a home educated child get a job in school hours?

YES they can.


What are the home alone laws?

Your child supposedly has to be at least 8-9 years of age to stay at home alone for about 2-4 hours. If your child is 11 or older, she/he can babysit other children.


What is the Guide line for child home alone?

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.


How long can a child be left home alone in ga and what is the legal age for them to be home alone at all?

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.


Why is it a bad idea to ban cell phones in school?

It's not ! If a child can't survive a few hours without their phone - they need serious help ! If a parent needs to contact their child urgently during school hours - they can simply phone the school, and a member of staff will fetch the child from class.


What is the legal age children can be left home alone in Vt?

The child has to be over 12 years of age an they are allowed to be left alone up to 4 hours


How many hours is it from Colorado to California?

How many hours from pueblo colorado to Belinda California


In New Jersey at what Age can child legally can be alone at home?

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.


How old does a child need to be to stay home alone in Oklahoma?

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.


What age can a child be left home alone in DE?

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours.


How many hours do American children spend in school per year?

The average American child will attend school from 8 AM to 3 PM 180 days of the year. That means the average American child spends 1,260 hours per year in school.


What is the law in Maryland for enabling a child to stay at home alone after school?

In Howard County a child can stay home for four hours by themselves at 8 years old. In PG and Montgomery they have to be 12years old. My daughter stayed home at the age of 8 in Howard county.


How many hours can an 8 yr old be alone in Maryland?

None. A child that age should always be supervised.


How do you calculate the time percentage each parent being with the child when the child has school and one parent sends the child to the school while the other picks him up when school is over?

The amount of hours with each parent, minus time at school. see link