Law & Legal Issues
Rules of the Road
Childcare and Babysitting
Children and the Law
Statutes of Limitations
Traffic Violations and Tickets
Labor and Employment Law
Divorce and Marriage Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
The laws and regulations that have been put in place for the individual states by their governing bodies.
What is the supreme law of the land in the US?
The US Constitution and federal laws and treaties that adhere to the Constitution officially became the "supreme law of the land" in the United States Article VI the document and the laws of the United States which "shall be made in pursuance thereof..." are the "Supreme Law of the Land." The phrase, "shall be made in pursuance thereof" indicates the Constitution is the ultimate authority to which all other laws and treaties must conform. Article VI, Clause 2 (Supremacy Clause) This Constitution, and the laws...
Asked in Repossession, Foreclosure, State Laws
What are the repossession laws in Georgia?
Georgia's Repossession Laws TITLE STATE: Yes SECURITY INTERESTS: Shown on title held by lien holder. LICENSE REGISTRATION: Georgia Motor Vehicle Division, 270 Washington Street, Atlanta, Georgia 30334. Tel: (404)362-6500. RECOVERY REQUIREMENT: As per UCC, repossession allowed without committing a breach of the peace. Plates no longer remain with the vehicle in Georgia, they are issued to the person now and are transferrable. Repossession Actions Your car can be seized by the repo company as soon as you are notified that you are in default of your...
Asked in State Laws, Unemployment Benefits
Who determines unemployment benefits if you quit your job?
The state unemployment office determines it based on why you quit. Did you have good cause? Good cause is determined by the state and its unemployment office and is documented in their cases that were previously resolved. What was the reason that you quit is the primary question. Was is due to your ignorance, lack of following the rules of that company. Or was it deception on the part of the employer. id the employer lie about the hours or wages. Are...
Asked in State Laws, Unemployment Benefits
Can you collect unemployment if you move while claiming benefits?
Interstate Unemployment Claims If you move out-of-state while claiming benefits, you should immediately telephone or report to a local unemployment office in your new state. They will help you claim benefits on an interstate basis. Here are opinions from other Wiki s Contributors: Yes, at least in Oregon and New Jersey. Go to your nearest unemployment office and inquire. If you got laid off in Alaska, you need to file a claim in Alaska (you can do this online or over the phone in most...
Asked in Criminal Law, Property Law, State Laws
What value constitutes grand larceny in Maryland?
Maryland does not use the term "grand larceny" or "grand theft." Rather, specific punishments are set based on several different value ranges. The lowest is Theft under $100. It is a misdemeanor and carries a max sentence of 90 days in jail and/or a fine of up tp $500 Theft under $1000 dollars is also a misdemeanor. 18 months and/or $500 Theft between $1,000 and $10,000 is a felony. 10 years and/or $10,000 Between $10,000 and $100,000 is a felony. 15 years and/or $15,000 More than $100,000...
Can you pay someones taxes and own their land?
United States No. Generally you cannot get title to property simply by paying the delinquent taxes. The procedures vary from state to state but there needs to be a transfer of title. Towns have the legal authority to take possession of real property for non-payment of property taxes. In some jurisdictions the town must then get a court decree that perfects title in the town. Once the tax taking process is completed the town can sell the property at a public auction and...
Can you teach school with a felony record?
The answer would be entirely up to the organization or school board hiring you. However, in this day and age, I think that it is unlikely that someone with a felony record would be hired over an equally qualified candidate who had a clean record. ...
Can you collect unemployment once your settlement agreement stops and you are not paid any longer?
You can collect unemployment only if you qualify under state law - you have no income and you are actively seeking work, and you were not fired for a disqualifying reason. ...
Asked in Criminal Law, State Laws
What is the definition of capital murder?
"The unlawful killing of another human being without justification or excuse." This is potentially the law of Arkansas. I don't know. However, capital murder varies greatly by state. Typically, it is premeditated killing. Then, the jury can decide in sentencing whether they should punish with the state's 1st degree murder non-capital or their capital. There is typically no real definition and it is just a crapshoot. ...
Asked in Criminal Law, Local Laws, State Laws
Are expandable batons illegal in NY?
Under Education law, s. 6435 and Penal Law, s. 265.20, NY Code (effective after the 2013 legislative session), it is illegal to carry any baton [billy] "which is twenty-four to twenty-six inches in length and no more than one and one-quarter inches in thickness" unless you are a private college security officer, certain auxiliary police, or are: "1. . . . employed in fulfilling contracts with New York state, its agencies or political subdivisions for the purchase of billies or blackjacks; or 2. ....
How soon do your unemployment benefits stop after getting a job?
If your job is full time, your benefits stop immediately. This is why it's important to always keep the employment security office up to date on your status, to prevent over-payments or possible unemployment fraud. ...
Asked in State Laws, Unemployment
What happens to unemployment insurance payments if you move to another state?
You need to contact the employment security office to advise them and comply with their instructions on continuing to receive them. ...
Asked in Civil Lawsuits, Business Law, State Laws
Do both parties sign a prenup?
Usually, yes. But if you are good enough, you can convince her/him to sign it then you don't need to sign it. Another view: While in theory, the foregoing may be true, it may make later enforceability harder. That is, the fact that you did not sign it but your spouse did may make it appear that you exerted undue influence upon him/her. ...
Asked in Law & Legal Issues, State Laws
Can one notarize an original signature without the person being present but had prior dealings with the person and was shown identification prior?
No. A document must be actually signed in the presence of the notary.
Asked in Property Law, State Laws
Can you get a minor in possession ticket for just being at a party even if there were adults present and you had no alcohol in the room with you?
You need to consult with a district court attorney in your jurisdiction who is familiar with misdemeanors. It may be worthwhile to clear your record. Based on the wording of your question, in most jurisdiction, the state would have failed to meet the requirements to prosecute for minor in possession. Most jurisdictions require three elements to be proven. The minor was under age at the time. The minor had in their possession an intoxicating beverage The minor knew that such actions were illegal at...
What is the Commercial vehicle gun law in fl?
A gun is not allowed in a commercial vehicle. This is a federal law and does not differ from state to state. ---- ACTUALLY, the FMCSR does not address the issue of guns in commercial vehicles. The existence of a federal law prohibiting firearms in commercial vehicles.. if it exists, I have yet to find anyone whose been able to cite it, and I've found nothing in repeated searches of the FMCSR pertaining to firearms. However, you still have the matter of what...
Asked in Criminal Law, State Laws
Can you get out on bond for a felony charge if you are already out on bond for a felony charge?
no i dont believe you can. Added: It is EXTREMELY UNLIKELY. One of the conditions of being released on bond is that you won't commit any more criminal offenses while released. You do the math!! ...
If hairdressers are paid by commission are they entitled to unemployment benefits?
No. State regulations will exclude people paid by commission from unemployment benefits. ...
Asked in Criminal Law, State Laws, Federal Laws
Can a convicted felon possess black powder firearms in Virginia?
No. Your local, county, state, and federal authorities are available by making a simple phone call. Please direct your inquiry there. ...
What is the babysitting age requirement in NC?
There isn't a 'legal' age. It's pretty much whatever the parents want. That if, of course, if you are just watching kids for a family you know. However, if you want to get a job at a child care place, then it depends on the place itself ...