Best Answer

In brief, the Buddha taught that our lives are filled with "dukkha" (sometimes expressed as "suffering," but inaccurately) that springs from being ultimately unable to attain the things we long for. Life happens, illness and death happen, deprivations happen, we often do not get our way, and things do not happen to our satisfaction. Our realization of these things, consciously or unconsciously, is the cause of dukkha.

Buddhism provides the thought tools to move beyond the narrow way of life defined -- essentially -- by things we cannot attain. It teaches us to think clearly rather than allowing our head monsters to drag us around by our thoughts. Once we realize the reality of life as dukkha, we are able to move beyond these limiting ways of thinking and live serene lives.

This is the first thing that the Buddha taught upon attaining enlightenment and is the basic philosophy of Buddhism. It is known as the four noble truths.

1. Life is suffering

2. Attachment is the cause of suffering

3. Suffering can be eliminated

4. The eightfold path is the way to end suffering For more information see the Four Noble Truths on the left for a very in-depth exploration of this teaching. Click on the link to your left for the answer.

Do your best to be kind and considerate of all living things

The Four Noble Truths

1. The Reality of Suffering--dukkha

Suffering exists in the world and in people's lives.

2. The Cause of Suffering --samudaya

The principle cause of suffering is the attachment to "desire" or "craving", tanha. Both desire to have (wanting) and desire not to have (aversion).

ï‚· desire for sense-pleasures--kama-tanha,

ï‚· desire to become--bhava-tanha,

ï‚· desire to get rid of--vibhava-tanha.

3. Suffering can end, Nirvana is peace --nirodha

The end of suffering is non-attachment, or letting go of desire or craving. This is the state of Nibbana (Nirvana), where greed, hatred, and delusion are extinct.

4. The Path to the Cessation of Suffering--magga

The Eight-Fold Path:


ï‚· Right Understanding/Knowledge--samma ditthi

ï‚· Right Thought/Thinking--samma sankappa


ï‚· Right Speech--samma vaca

ï‚· Right Action/Conduct--samma kammanta

ï‚· Right Livelihood--samma ajiva


ï‚· Right Effort--samma vayama

ï‚· Right Mindfulness--samma sati

ï‚· Right Concentration--samma samadhi

~ Eric Putkonen Buddha help his people in many ways, but the most important is people must help themselves In Buddhist scripture (Digha-Nikaya, iii. 3), we learn that the purpose of the Buddha teaching Dhamma (the law or principle) is to lead whoever practices it to the total dissolution of suffering. The dissolution of suffering, it needs to be kept in mind, is not some blanked out state. It is supreme bliss and immortality. One of the main goals of Buddhism is to see the world for what it is, and to achieve Nirvana.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-02-18 10:12:57
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

What was the goal of Irish nationalists

Siddhartha Gautama the founder of Buddhism was originally a member of what religion

The and rivers are the two largest in China

When you walk the middle path in Buddhism you reach equilibrium between what two extremes

See all cards
36 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the philosophy of Buddhism?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is Buddhism both a religion and a philosophy?

Yes Buddhism is both a religion and a philosophy

Who follows Buddhism?

Whoever believed in Buddhism philosophy.

Which Gods are part of Buddhism?

Buddhism is a Philosophy, not a religion.

Why is Buddhism considered a philosophy not a religion?

Buddhism is considered a philosophy and not a religion because, the Buddha is not a god, there is no "God" in Buddhism. The main tenant is that we are all capable of Buddhahood.

Is Buddhism a religion and philosophy?

It is a matter of opinion.

What is the philosophies Buddhism?

There is no philosophy in Buddhism. Only the teachings of the Buddha are contained in Buddhism.[ See 'What are the important teachings in Buddhism?' to have full information. ]

In Buddhism what are their ethnicities?

Buddhism is a philosophy or a religion. Members of any ethnic group can be Buddhist.

What are the differences between Buddhism Daoism and Judaism?

buddhism and judaism are religions and daoism is a philosophy.

Religion and Philosophy of the Sui Dynasty?

You! I think it is Buddhism.

Which philosophy originated in China and India?

eastern philosophy Confucionism originated in China, Buddhism in India.

What has the author Suniti Kumar Pathak written?

Suniti Kumar Pathak has written: 'Buddhism' -- subject(s): Harmony (Philosophy), Doctrines, Buddhism, Peace 'Dimensions of Buddhism and Jainism' -- subject(s): Doctrines, Jainism, Buddhism, Buddhist literature, Buddhist philosophy, Tantric Buddhism, History and criticism

What has the author W F Jayasuriya written?

W. F. Jayasuriya has written: 'The psychology and philosophy of Buddhism' -- subject(s): Buddha and Buddhism, Psychology, Buddhist Philosophy

People also asked