What is the weight limit for a child riding in the front seat of a car with an airbag?
If a child is to sit in the front of a car with an airbag, they MUST BE 80 POUNDS!!
My umderstanding is that there is no law against children riding in the front seat of a car in NY. There are several requirments that children be "properly restrained" which varies by age and weight. However, there are no laws prohibiting a child of any age from riding in the front seat of a car.
In order to have the right to sit in front you need to check with the laws of your own state. In most states they have guidelines on height, weight and age of the child. Remember an airbag can seriously harm a child, especially one that wears glasses, braces or other orthotics around the head. Think of the child's welfare rather than his or her cries to sit in front.
You need to disable the passenger side airbag.
There is no certain age. You have to reach a certain height and weight so if you are under height and weight then you are more likely to have severe injuries from an airbag. Usually the weight is around 100 lbs and the height is around 5 feet.
no, its illegal
12 if there is a airbag
you should be 10
When a Child May Ride in Front Children under the age of six weighing less than 60 pounds may ride in the front seat of a vehicle, but only when: There is no rear seat or the rear seats are either side-facing jump seats or rear-facing seats. The child passenger restraint system cannot be installed properly in the rear seat. All rear seats are already occupied by children under the age of 12 years. A… Read More
A child must be 11 and above to sit in the front seat. Any child under the weight of 75 lbs should be in the back seat. If you are under the age of eight you should be in the back seat with a booster seat. If your car does not have a back seat, then your child should still sit in the front but still with a booster seat. You should also get your… Read More
There is no minimum weight required by law for a child to sit in the front passenger seat in Oregon. It is strongly recommended that the child be at least 12 years old before riding in the front. The air bags can cause serious injury to a child smaller than this. Currently laws are only in effect for children that need to ride in safety seats.
Not. If the airbag goes off it will occupy the space where the baby used to be. Drive a different vehicle.
In Michigan, a child 4 years of age may ride in the front seat of a vehicle if all other seats are taken by children under the age of 4. A rear-facing car seat can be placed in the front seat if the airbag is turned off.
not sure of exact age but if child is in a child seat it's a better idea to keep them in the back to avoid airbag injuries.
They can if you do not have back seats and ONLY if your car has a airbag sensor to disable it if the weight is not enough or has a external switch to turn it off. Also, you should only use a rear facing child seat.
The Ford focus does not come equipped with a passenger airbag on off switch. The airbag will not engage unless certain weight requirements are met.
its not about weight, its about height, and whether or not the airbag in the front will suffocate you when it explodes. happy driving!
I believe that its 12 years of age and/or 42 inches tall.
The front passenger seat has a sensor built into it and is always on unless a weight between 9 and 45lbs (maybe slightly different) is placed on the seat. This is in case you put a child safety seat on the front passenger seat so as not to deploy the airbag in a collision. The sensor is also intelligent and will vary the deployment depending on how heavy the front passenger is so as to… Read More
If you do not meet the minimum in height and weight for sitting in the front seat or "shotgun" of a car, the airbag will hurt you if you get into a crash.
the weight for sitting in the front in for in Virginia is 80 pounds
Found on HometownSource - Ask a Trooper: There are no height or weight requirements, and it is legal for anyone of any age to sit in the front seat (except an infant in a rear-facing infant seat) in front of an airbag, so yes. However, nationally, we don't recommend that any child under the age of 13 sit in the front seat of any vehicle, even if there is no airbag, but especially if there… Read More
Disable the passenger-size airbag. If there is no way to disable the passenger airbag, the only safe thing is to belt them in the back seat -- which is safer, and required by law in most states anyway.
ANSWER- More important than age, is the size of the child, to ride safely in the front seat of any vehicle. If the child is not TALL enough, should there be a collision, the airbag will strike them in the face, head & neck instead of striking the chest area as it is designed to do. In that case the airbag could injure or KILL a child. Therefore, if there is the slightest bit of… Read More
Your child must be 13 years or older to sit in the front seat of a car. Here is an in-depth explanation of the laws about children riding in cars.
What is the height and weight restrictions for a child to sit in the front seat in a car in Ireland?
It is safe and legal for a child of any age to sit in the front passenger side of the car. They must have the correct child restraint for their height and weight.
A child under the age of six weighing less than 60 pounds may ride in the front seat of a vehicle when: * There is no rear seat or the rear seats are either side-facing jump seats or rear-facing seats. * The child passenger restraint system cannot be installed properly in the rear seat. * All rear seats are already occupied by children under the age of 12 years. * A medical reason requires the… Read More
Rules regarding this vary from state to state. However a good general rule is if the child is under the age of 12 should always sit in the back seat. The primary reason for this is because of their height in relation to the dashboard and or airbags. In an accident the child may have more serious injuries from sitting in the front and hitting the dashboard or being impacted by an airbag which was… Read More
If it's anything like my 2005 Highlander it is automatic. There's a weight sensor in the passanger seat. Given that airbags can kill small kids if they're put in the front, the car companies have it set so the sensor turns off the airbag for any weight under about 80 pounds. If a heavier preson sits in the passanger seat i the "Air Bag Off" indicator will go out and the airbag will operate in… Read More
It is by weight, not age. I think the weight is 40 lbs before a child can sit in the front.
that's a good question. my buttcheeks alright tell that to your kid
What is the legal age and weight requirements for a child to ride in the front seat in Massachusetts?
what is legal age for child to ride in front seat in MAss?
The age is 12 but if your child is more than 80lbs he/she can sit in the front
It is illegal to do so. Put the child in the back seat where they are much safer.
Every state has different laws and regulations about when a child can legally sit in the front seat of the car. On average, a child must be at least 8 years old to sit up front in a vehicle.
There are no laws concerning children and front seats. There is a law about children and the use of child safety seats.
12-13 - it also is determined by weight. The average child reaches the right weight around that age
no Only if the front airbag can be deactivated - this does not mean it is allowed in every state - some states have laws that mandate the child should be in the back seat until they weigh 85 lbs or are 14 years old -
How can you turn the passenger airbag off in Ford Focus 2007 so you can use your child in the front seat?
Car manufactures these days make their vehicles very complicated so people will have to pay for anything modified on their vehicles. They put airbags in vehicles to protect their passengers. A child thirteen years or younger is not supposed to sit in the front seat while an active airbag is in front of them. The only way you can disengage an air bag in your ford focus, would be to take off the front dash… Read More
If you have a child in the front seat of a car, you must ensure they are wearing a seat belt and that the airbag is connected. An unrestrained child without an airbag will be flung through the windshield in a crash and will die. The only exception to this is if you've got a baby in a rear-facing car seat strapped to the passenger seat. The baby seat must, without exception, be attached to… Read More
If you are putting a baby in the front seat with a rear-facing safety seat, any front airbag in that seat must be deactivated. see http://www.childcarseats.org.uk/law/fromseptember06.htm
It depends. If you have an airbag, they recomend you do not put them in the front seat until they are atleast 12. The absolute safest place for your child is the middle of the back seat. ------------------------------------------------------------------ do not matter I went in the front when I was 0
It is not an age restiction. It is a height/weight restriction for saftey from the passenger side airbag. 50 lbs and no booster seat is what is required.
I am also researching this question. So far, I can only find information that says there is "no law" mandating this, but "children are always safer in the the back seat," and it is "recommended" that children ride in the back through age 12. If you have a truck, I do think you have to disable the passenger side airbag if transporting a child in a rear-facing safety seat. If using the airbag with older… Read More
Depends the weight and height
They must be physically restrained with the proper child safety seat.
The child has to be at least 13 years of age and over 80 pounds. (law)
In Illinois, a child must be at least 8 years old to ride in the front seat of a vehicle. The child must be wearing a seatbelt in the front seat.
The only time I know of is when the car is out in a large open field surrounded by trees and grass and the battery is disconnected ensuring that the Airbag will NOT go off. That airbag can go off at anytime. That would be the equivalent of lifting your child up 15 feet into the air and dropping them on their face. It's not very good for the child.
Where is the front airbag sensor located on the Honda Accord V6 2003
California law is not age-based, but weight-based. A child can sit in the front seat at 65 lbs.