Where do you have to be from to be form the Balkans?

The balkans is a region is southeastern Europe also known as the Balkan Peninsula. Countries that lie within the region are Albania, Boania & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Greece, Kosovo, Montenegro & Macedonia. However, most of Croatia and Serbia are included with smaller parts of Italy, Turkey, Romania and Slovenia.