Asked in
Travel & Places
United Kingdom

Which places in the British Isles end in 'shire'?


User Avatar
Wiki User
June 11, 2007 9:53AM

One presumes you mean 'at the present time'. Shires are counties, and counties are political divisions subject to change. Many of the old counties no longer have a physical existence, though their inhabitants will still insist they live there. There are people in Dumfries and Galloway, for example, who still insist that they live in Dumfriesshire. However, the official list since 1998 has been as follows:
Aberdeenshire (Abers)
Bedfordshire (Bed)
Berkshire (Berks)
Buckinghamshire (Buk)
Cambridgeshire (Cambs)
Carmarthenshire (Carmar)
Cheshire (Ches)
Clackmannanshire (Cla)
Denbighshire (De)
Derbyshire (Derby)
East Ayrshire (E Ayr)
East Dunbartonshire (E Dun)
East Renfrewshire (E Rn)
East Riding of Yorkshire (East Yorks)
Flintshire (F)
Gloucestershire (Glos)
Hampshire (Hants)
Herefordshire (Heref)
Hertfordshire (Hert)
Lancashire (Lancs)
Leicestershire (Leics)
Lincolnshire (Lincs)
Monmouthshire (Mon)
North Ayrshire (N Ayr)
North Lanarkshire (N Lnk)
North Yorkshire
Northamptonshire (NHant)
Nottinghamshire (Not)
Oxfordshire (Oxfd)
Pembrokeshire (Pem)
Renfrewshire (Ren)
Shropshire (Shrop)
South Ayrshire (S Ayr)
South Lanarkshire (South Lnk)
South Yorkshire (South Yrks)
Staffordshire (Staff)
Warwickshire (War)
West Dunbartonshire (W Dun)
West Yorkshire (West Yorks)
Wiltshire (Wilts)
Worcestershire (Wor) This gives us 41. BUT there are counties of which, despite both their official and historic names, are frequently spoken of with the suffix -shire. people talk of Devonshire and Dorsetshire, for example. Prominent among this class are: Devon
Rutland (R)
Somerset So one could say, 45. Of course, if you think of historic counties, the list would be somewhat different; and again, most people still think in terms of the old order. Thus, historic Lancashire (my own county) has been split into Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside and a part of Cumbia; but we all think of ourselves still as Lancastrians. For further details, try