History of the United States
Cold War
US Presidents

Who were the US presidents during the Cold War?


User Avatar
Wiki User

The Cold War lasted from the end of World War II until 1989, when the Berlin wall came down. So the answer is every President from May 1945 to 1989. They were

  • Harry S. Truman
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • John F. Kennedy
  • Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Richard Nixon
  • Gerald Ford
  • Jimmy Carter
  • Ronald Reagan
  • George H. W. Bush

The "Cold War" between the US and USSR was the period from World War II until the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.
Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush Senior was at the end of the Cold War.