Founding Fathers
Thomas Jefferson
Declaration of Independence

Who wrote the Declaration of Independence?



User Avatar
Wiki User

Thomas Jefferson was the primary author of the Declaration of Independence. However, five men from the Constitutional Convention were delegated as a committee to write it. In addition to Thomas Jefferson there were the following:

  • John Adams
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Robert R. Livingston
  • Roger Sherman

Once Jefferson had finished the document, John Adams and Benjamin Franklin made some small changes. It was thereafter submitted to the Congress for review. Congress as a whole made many changes, adding some words, deleting some, and just changing others.

It was adopted on July 4, 1776.