Best Answer

Under the Articles of Confederation, the Confederation Congress created the Department of Foreign Affairs in 1780 and appointed Robert R. Livingston as the first Secretary of Foreign Affairs.

When the United States switched from the Articles of Confederation to the Constitution in March 1789, the Department of Foreign Affairs automatically dissolved. In July of that year George Washington signed into law the bill recreating it, and he appointed John Jay, the second and last Secretary of Foreign Affairs under the Articles of Confederation, as the first Acting Secretary of Foreign Affairs under the Constitution. Then in September of 1789, George Washington signed into law the bill that changed the Department of Foreign Affairs to the Department of State. At the same time, John Jay's position was changed from Acting Secretary of Foreign Affairs to Acting Secretary of State.

The first official Secretary of State, Thomas Jefferson, was also appointed by George Washington. He took office in March 1790.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

George Washignton

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which former US president appointed the first secretary for the Department of State?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about American Government

Who becomes US President if the President Vice President Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate dies?

The line of succession continues with the Cabinet, beginning with the Secretary of State. As of March, 2009, the US Secretary of State is former First Lady and Presidential hopeful Hillary Rodham Clinton.

Who are Cabinet Members of President Benigno Aquino Jr?

Department of Foreign Affairs - Alberto Romulo (incumbent DFA secretary)Department of Finance - Cesar Purisima (former DOF secretary and a member of the Hyatt 10)Department of Justice - Leila De Lima (erstwhile Commission on Human Rights chairperson)Department of National Defense - Voltaire Gazmin (former Philippine Army chief and Presidential Security Group commander in Cory Aquino's administration)Department of Education - Bro. Armin Luistro (former De La Salle University president)Department of Budget and Management - Florencio "Butch" Abad (former DepEd secretary and one of the Hyatt 10)National Economic and Development Authority - Cayetano Paderanga Jr. (who served the same position in Cory Aquino's administration)Department of Agriculture - Quezon Rep. Proceso AlcalaDepartment of Environment and Natural Resources - DENR Undersecretary Ramon PajeDepartment of Transportation and Communications - Jose "Ping" De Jesus (former DPWH secretary and current Meralco COO)Department of Labor and Employment - Rosalinda Baldos (incumbent undersecretary of the department)Department of Health - Enrique Ona (incumbent executive director of the National Kidney and Transplant Institute)Department of Tourism - Alberto Lim (executive director of the Makati Business Club)Department of Trade and Industry - Greg Domingo (former DTI undersecretary)Department of Social Welfare and Development - Corazon "Dinky" Soliman (former DSWD secretary and one of the Hyatt 10)Department of Science and Technology - Mario MontejoDepartment of Energy - Jose Rene Almendras (Manila Water Co. Inc. president)Department of Public Works and Highways - Rogelio Singson (Maynilad president and CEO)Department of Agrarian Reform - Virgilio de los Reyes (incumbent undersecretary of the department)Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process - Teresita Deles (former peace adviser and one of the Hyatt 10)Presidential Management Staff (PMS) head - Julia Abad (Aquino's Senate chief of staff)Presidential spokesman - Edwin Lacierda (Aquino's campaign spokesman)Presidential chief legal counsel - Eduardo de MesaCommission on Higher Education - Patricia Licuanan (Miriam College president)Bureau of Internal Revenue Commissioner - Kim Jacinto-Henares (former BIR deputy commissioner)

Name the President who appointed the second most Supreme Court justices?

Franklin D. Roosevelt was the president who appointed the second most Supreme Court Justices. He appointed eight justices during his presidency.

Who is the secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services?

The new secretary is Sylvia Mathews Burwell. Kathleen Sebelius was the Secretary of Health and Human Services since April 29, 2009.

Who is the Secretary of department of environment?

michael maglupa siya ay isang bakla ngaun maraming nakakaalam na siya ay nagkakagusto kay dingdong dantes .sa gabi ang pangalan niya ay kashokoy minsan nagwawala siya at nagsisisigaw dahil nababaliw siya minsan .by : kim shantal 13 ........................................................

Related questions

Which former U.S. president appointed the first secretary for the Department of State?

George Washington

Former defense secretary before he became president?

No U.S. Defense Secretary has been a U.S. President to date, but one, Dick Cheney, has been a U.S. Vice President. Two U.S. Presidents had been U.S. Secretary of War. The War Department became part of the Defense Department in 1947. The two were James Monroe and William Howard Taft.

What did John Marshall do after being Secretary of State under President John Adams?

President John Adams appointed former Secretary of State John Marshall as Chief Justice of the United States in 1801. He served until his death in 1835, more than 34 years later.

Why did President Lincoln remove Secretary of War Simon Cameron?

Simon Cameron was President Lincoln's first secretary of war. Lincoln became upset with Cameron when in early 1862, he distributed a report that urged the government to arm former slaves. Lincoln sent him to Russia as the US ambassador. Lincoln then appointed Edwin Stanton as the new secretary of of war.

What Cabinet Department has had both Hillary Clinton and John Kerry as its Secretary Leader?

Hillary Clinton served as Secretary of State. As such, she served under President Obama. In this role, Former Sec. Clinton gained valuable international knowledge and skills.

Who is the US President's Secretary of State?

In January 2012 serving the US President Barack Obama is the former First Lady Hillary Clinton as Secretary of State.

Who is the president of NATO?

NATO does not have a president. It's acting head is the Secretary General. The current Secretary General is Anders Fogh Rasmussen, former prime minister of Denmark.

Who is the US department of the interior secretary?

The current secretary of the Department of Interior is Ken Salazar. He is a part of the democratic party.

Who is the Philippine secretary of NEDA?

As of this day, the current Director-General of NEDA is former Senator Ralph G. Recto, as appointed by Her Excellency President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. The current NEDA Dirctor General is Cayetano W. Pederanga Jr. Appointed by President Benigno "Noynoy" Simeon Aquino III As new President of the republic of the Philippines.

What cabinet member is responsible for maintaining our relationships with foreign countries?

The cabinet member that is in charge of foreign affairs is the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State is John Kerry who is a former Senator of Massachusetts.

Who was the 1st President to appoint a former President to the Supreme Court?

Warren Harding appointed ex-President William Howard Taft to the court in 1921.

Who is the current US Secretary of Agriculture?

The US Secretary of Agriculture since January 20, 2009 is Thomas (Tom) Vilsack, He was born December 13, 1950 and a former governor of the state of Iowa. He was named by President Obama for his first term in office (2009-2013).