answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

That'd be a misplay - you need to keep in mind player Priority. When the Monarch is summoned, the turn player still has Priority. He can use this for an Ignition Effect, or Quick Effect, or just pass Priority for the opponent to respond. Also, anything that triggers from the summon will activate first.

So when the Monarch is successfully summoned, the turn player has to pass Priority in one way or another before the opponent can do anything. In the case of Caius for example, Caius' mandatory effect will automatically become chain link 1 and pass Priority. For Mobius, his effect will be chain link 1 if the turn player wants to activate it, otherwise he retains Priority as above, or simply chooses to pass it. The opponent will then chain Torrential Tribute to this. Even though Torrential Tribute resolves and destroys the monarch first, his effect is still on the chain and will resolve as normal - assuming the target is still on the field, of course.

One last word on the scenario with Mobius - if the turn player chooses not to activate him, and the opponent does respond with Torrential Tribute, then the turn player has missed the chance to activate him. But to be clear, his turn player Priority gives him the choice to choose whether or not to use him, before the opponent gets chance to respond.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you summon a Monarch and your opponent uses 'Torrential Tribute' do you still get to use the monarch's effect?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can your opponent Torrential Tribute your Black Rose Dragon when you synchro summon it?

Yes, a Synchro Summon is a special summon, so Torrential Tribute can be used. If Black Rose Dragon chose to activate its optional trigger effect, then that will be chain link 1, Torrential Tribute will be chain link 2.


Does Torrential Tribute still resolve with effect if it was chained by El Shaddoll Fusion in Yu-Gi-Oh?

El Shaddoll Fusion doesn't affect how Torrential Tribute resolves. Imagine you summon a monster, and the opponent responds with Torrential Tribute. You chain El Shaddoll Fusion. When that resolves, it lets you perform a Fusion Summon as written. But Torrential Tribute was still correctly activated, and when it resolves it will destroy all monsters on the field - it doesn't matter that the monsters have changed and are different from the ones present when it was activated.


Does Torrential Tribute destroy Spirit Reaper and why?

Yes, "Torrential Tribute" will destroy "Spirit Reaper". The effect of "Spirit Reaper" states that it cannot be destroyed in battle. "Torrential Tribute" destroys all monsters on the field and has nothing to do with battle.


Can 'Torrential Tribute' work on 'Tyrant Dragon'?

Tyrant Dragon is only protected from traps that target. Torrential Tribute does not target anything, so can destroy Tyrant Dragon.


Does 'Trap Reactor Y FI' work on 'Torrential Tribute'?

It 'works' on it - when the Torrential Tribute is activated, you can chain Trap Reactor's Quick effect to destroy it and deal 800 damage. Just don't forget that destroying Torrential Tribute after it activates, does not stop the effect resolving as normal - only negation would do that.


Which effect resolves first if Black Rose Dragon is synchro summoned by Torrential Tribute is activated in response in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Triggers will always go on the chain first before any manually activated cards like Torrential Tribute. Black Rose Dragon's trigger will be chain link 1, Torrential Tribute will be chain link 2, so Torrential Tribute will resolve first, then Black Rose Dragon's effect.


Can you use Torrential Tribute against Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord?

As long as he is not being summoned in the Damage Step, then yes, you can. After he is summoned, his triggered effect activates. You will chain Torrential Tribute to this.


When your opponent summons breaker the magical warrior and you use torrential tribute does breaker still get to use his effect to break a card?

No. Normally if you successfully summon a monster, you can place any Ignition Effect at chain link 1, before the opponent can respond with cards like Bottomless Trap Hole. However, Breaker has a trigger that activates when he is Normal Summoned, and it is this trigger that gives him the spell counter he can use for his Ignition Effect. So this trigger will be chain link 1, and Torrential Tribute is chain link 2. Torrential Tribute will destroy him before he even gets his counter, so in this case he would not get the chance to destroy an S/T card before his own destruction.


How can you defeat 'Five-Headed Dragon' in Yu-Gi-Oh?

You can use cards like Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute, Smashing Ground, Sakuretsu Armor, Caius the Shadow Monarch, etc.


Can you activate torrential tribute in main phase 2 if a monster is summoned?

Yes, you can activate Torrential Tribute whenever a monster is summoned. Here's a hint you can also activate on your turn to destroy your opponents monsters.


Can you chain breaker the magical warrior's effect to torrential tribute?

In either scenario below, whether he was summoned or on the field, his effect will not do anything to prevent Torrential Tribute's effect, in fact, Breaker can't chain his effect to Torrential in the first place. The only way that Breaker can win against Torrential Tribute is when his already on the field and you destroy it when its face down before it could activate its effects. Lets put this in scenarios.Scenario 1 - Normal Summoning Breaker1. You Normal Summon Breaker the Magical Warrior2. Breaker's effect activates to gain 1 spell counter (Chain 1)3. Your opponent chains Torrential Tribute to Breaker's summon (Chain 2)4. Chain resolves backwards which Torrential Tribute (chain 2) destroys all monsters on the field, then, Breaker's effect (chain 1) goes off. However, since Breaker was destroyed by Torrential Tribute and his effect doesn't have its designated target (himself) to put a spell counter on, his effect cannot happen so nothing happens for chain 1.Scenario 2 - His on the field the fieldLets say his on the field with one spell counter, you summon a monster and your opponent activates Torrential Tribute in response to the summoning. Firstly, during this time, you cannot use Breaker's effect on Torrential Tribute since his Spell/Trap Destruction effect is an Ignition effect, which means effects that require a manual activation by the card's controller usually during their own Main Phase 1 or 2. To start things off, most Ignition effect during a chain would most likely be the first effect during a chain (chain 1), if it isn't on the chain then Ignition effects cannot activate their effects in response to the cards in the chain. While he has an Ignition effect, his effect is Spell Speed 1 (which all Ignition Effects are), while Normal Traps (which torrential Tribute is) are Spell Speed 2, you cannot use an effect to chain to something that has a faster Spell Speed than a card that has a lower Spell Speed. If he could chain his effect to Torrential Tribute, his effect needs to be a Quick effect, which is a Spell Speed 2 and at par with Traps in order to successfully chain his effect to it. So after that all that trouble, Torrential Tribute activates, all monsters are destroyed without Breaker activating his effect.PS - Even if you were going to use Breaker's effect in response to Torrential Tribute (which you can't as stated before), you would destroy Torrential Tribute but its effects will still go through and proceeds on to destroy all monsters, regardless if it was not on the field. The only way on stopping any card effects completely is when you have cards that can negate certain effects, for example, Dark Bribe, Solemn Judgment, Divine Wrath etc.Lets make this into a scenario1. You summoned a monster(s) with whatever effect or Normal Summon2. Your opponent responds your summon(s) with a Torrential Tribute (chain 1)3. You use Breaker's effect in response to Torrential Tribute (chain 2)4. Chain resolves backwards which Breaker's effect (chain 2) destroys Torrential Tribute, then, Torrential Tribute's effect (chain 1) goes through and proceeds on destroying all monsters.Hopefully this helps you know that Breaker can't use his effect to chain to Traps in general and sorry for the long explanation and possibilities but that's how the gameplay and rules for Yu-Gi-Oh! works.


Can torrential tribute destroy all the monsters special summoned by the effect of superancient deepsea king coelacanth?

Yes. All the monsters are summoned at the same time, by a single resolution. Torrential Tribute can be used in response to this.