answersLogoWhite

0

Counters will cancel out and be removed, but actual cards will not (they effectively cancel out, but they do not get removed unless other cards act specifically to remove them).

This is a state-based effect, which means it happens faster than you can tournament legally react to it (you can react to cards or effects that try to add one of the counters, but once the counter effects the card you cannot do anything to stop the cancellation).

People use this rule to keep creatures with "Persist" in play longer than they normally are.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Is a creature considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering?

No, a creature is not considered a spell in Magic: The Gathering.


Is a planeswalker considered a creature in Magic: The Gathering?

No, a planeswalker is not considered a creature in Magic: The Gathering.


Can you block one creature with multiple creatures in Magic: The Gathering?

No, in Magic: The Gathering, you can only block one creature with one creature.


What is the rule regarding what happens when a Magic: The Gathering creature dies?

When a Magic: The Gathering creature dies, it is put into the graveyard from the battlefield.


In a game of Magic: The Gathering (MTG), do you have to tap a creature to block an attacking creature?

Yes, in a game of Magic: The Gathering, you have to tap a creature to use it to block an attacking creature.


When can you regenerate a creature in Magic: The Gathering?

You can regenerate a creature in Magic: The Gathering when it would be destroyed, by paying the regeneration cost specified on the card.


Can a creature in Magic: The Gathering be regenerated if it has the ability "can't be regenerated"?

No, a creature in Magic: The Gathering cannot be regenerated if it has the ability "can't be regenerated."


Is changeling a creature type in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, "Changeling" is a creature type in Magic: The Gathering. Changeling creatures have the ability to take on the characteristics of any creature type.


Can you block more than one creature in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes, in Magic: The Gathering, you can block more than one creature with a single creature if it has the ability to do so.


How many creatures can block a single creature in a game of Magic: The Gathering?

In a game of Magic: The Gathering, multiple creatures can block a single creature.


Can one creature block multiple attackers in Magic: The Gathering?

No, in Magic: The Gathering, each creature can only block one attacker at a time.


What happens when a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection in Magic: The Gathering?

When a creature with trample attacks a creature with protection in Magic: The Gathering, the attacking creature can assign excess damage to the defending player or planeswalker, bypassing the protected creature.