Best Answer
User Avatar

Kiera Lakin

Lvl 10
2y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: After World War 2 Germany was divided into four occupation zones with a zone each for Great Britain the Soviet Union the US and .?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about World History

What 4 nations divided Germany after World War 2 and occupied it?

1. U.S 2. Soviet Union 3. France 4. Great Britain

When did the occupation of Germany after World War 2 end?

After the end of World War II in 1945, Germany was divided into four occupation zones controlled by the Allied powers: the United States, the United Kingdom, France, and the Soviet Union. This division aimed to stabilize Germany and prevent it from waging war again. However, as tensions escalated between the Western Allies and the Soviet Union during the Cold War, this division deepened, eventually leading to the separation of East and West Germany. The occupation lasted nearly a decade, with the Western zones merging to form the Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) in 1949. Meanwhile, the Soviet zone became the German Democratic Republic (East Germany). The division of Germany into East and West intensified the geopolitical struggle between the communist bloc and the Western allies. Efforts to grant West Germany full sovereignty gained momentum in the early 1950s. Negotiations culminated in the signing of the Bonn-Paris conventions on May 5, 1955. These agreements acknowledged West Germany's sovereignty, ended the occupation officially, and allowed the nation to rearm and join NATO. This pivotal moment marked the conclusion of the Allied occupation, signaling West Germany's return to full independence and international recognition.

What were the restrictions put on Germany after world war 2?

Germany did not exist post-WW2 until reunification in 1989.Neither West Germany nor East Germany (created out of the US/UK/French occupation zones and the Soviet Occupation zones) were allowed to independently sign treaties, nor have armies.This changed rapidly with the onset of the Cold War.The worst that happened to Germany was half of it was granted to Poland, with 11 million German civilians expelled or murdered by the Polish and Soviet armies.

Why do you think the allies decided to divide Germany into 4 zones of occupation?

The decision to divide Germany into four zones of occupation was made by the Allies (United States, Soviet Union, Britain, and France) at the end of World War II. It was primarily done to prevent Germany from becoming a unified and potentially powerful country that could pose a threat to European security, as it had done in the past. Additionally, the division allowed the Allies to maintain control and oversee the process of denazification and reconstruction in Germany.

What was the alliance system on World War 2?

America+Britain+Soviet Union+France+Canada Against Germany+Italy+Japan

Related questions

After World War 2 Germany was divided into four occupation zones with a zone for each of Great Britain the Soviet Union the US and?

Great Britain, Soviet Union, USA and France.

Which countries ran Germany after World War 2?

In 1945 Germany was divided into four zones of occupation run by: * Britain * France * The Soviet Union * The U.S.

What describes Germany after war world 2?

Germany was divided into four occupation zones controlled by the US, UK, France, and the Soviet Union respectively.

What European nation was divided into four occupation zones after World War 2?

Answer Germany & Austria were divided into four occupation zones. In each country France, Gr. Britain, the United States & the USSR administered one zone each. Germany. Also Berlin, which was entirely within the Soviet zone was likewise split into 4 zones of occupation.

Territory deep inside the soviet zone of Germany that was itself divided into four zones of occupation?


What major city got divided in Germany after World War 2?

Yes. At the end of the Second World War. Four Occupation Zones, each administered & occupied by: Soviet Union United States Great Britain France The Soviet Union occupation zone would become communist East Germany (DDR). The American, British & French zones would become free democratic West Germany (FRG). Also Berlin, Vienna, & Austria was divided into Occupation Zones.

What European Nation That Was Divided Was Divided Into Four Occupation Zones After World War 2?

Germany was divided into American, Soviet, French, and British occupational zones following WWII.

Who controlled Germany after World War 2?

After the German surrender on May 8, 1945, Germany was partitioned into four zones of occupationadministered by the victorious allies: France; the U.K.; The U.S.; and the Soviet Union.The occupation officially ended in 1949 with the formation of the Federal Republic of Germany ("West Germany") from the three western occupation zones, and the creation of the German Democratic Republic ("East Germany") from the Soviet occupation zone. This divided Germany was to last for more than 40 years.Berlin, deep inside East Germany, was further divided into western and eastern zones. After reunification in 1990 of all of Germany into the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin again became the capital.

How was the the United Kingdom's treatment of Czechoslovakia different from its treatment of Poland in the years before World War 2?

The United Kingdom allowed Germany to take over part of Czechoslovakia, but it came to Poland's defense when Germany invaded. However, Britain was ill-prepared to stop the occupation of Poland by Germany and by the Soviet Union.

What 4 nations divided Berlin and Germany after World War 2?

Great Britain, France, USA, Soviet Union

When did the soviet take over Germany after world war 2?

When Germany surrendered in 1945 the occupying armies Britain, France, the United States and Soviet Union divided Germany into sectors of control. The zone under soviet contorl became East Germany and the other sectors became West Germany.

What two countries did the soviet union and the wesrern power share powers of occupation?

The Soviet Union shared powers of occupation with Germany and Austria.