What would you like to do?
Can parents be sued for liability for a 19-year-old child on their insurance in the event they are charged with causing a personal injury accident?
Generally parent's cannot be held responsible for damages caused a child who has reached the age of majority, which in most states is 18. Four states have different age of majority statutes, they are Alabama and Nebraska 19 years old, Mississippi and Pennsylvania 21 years old (with some annotated exceptions). Regardless of the age responsibility for personal injury claims often depends upon specific circumstances. For example how the injury resulted, was it the result to a traffic accident, on property owned by the parents, can any negligence by other parties be attributed to the injury/damages, and so forth. Personal injury attorneys are very good at "working the system" to obtain the maximum damages award possible. It would be in the best interest of the parties involved to consult an attorney who is versant on state laws pertaining to personal injury claims.
20 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
If an accident is caused by someone distracting a driver who has liability insurance only can they collect damages from the person who distracted them?
Answer . The driver is responsible for whatever goes on in the car. If he/she is distracted he shouldn't be driving but should immediately pull over. If he/she has used the… poor judgment to allow an irresponsible person in the car and is subsequently distracted, the driver is still responsible.\n. \nIn the end, no matter what happens, the driver is responsible.
If a minor child who does not have a driver's license is involved in a fatal accident while driving a friend's car can their parents' insurance company be sued?
Answer . \nThis is a situation where the parents of the minor who was driving the vehicle should obtain legal counsel as soon as possible. Because the minor was not licen…sed the insurance provider does not have to accept liability for any damages.\n. \nThe parents of the minor however, can be held liable for any and all property damage and personal injuries that were incurred, including a possible wrongful death lawsuit depending upon the circumstances.
Does Illinois homeowners insurance cover medical costs for injuries to another person caused by the insured in an accident in the state of Wisconsin?
Answer . \nThe liability section of a Home insurance policy covers you anywhere any time as long as it is not malicious intent.
yes you can with or without it
You were in an accident 2 years ago and the other person is suing is she suing you or the insurance company?
Answer . She is suing you and you must notify your insurance company of the lawsuit. They will pay, make an offer to settle or defend you.
Personal Injury occurred after auto accident The person who caused it is insured through same insurance company as mine How do you seek resoulution for injury?
You would need to consult a lawyer to determine potential settlement. Some lawyers give free case evaluations
Can parents be sued for liability of a 16 year old driver on their insurance in the event of an accident?
Yes, Parents and other legal guardians are financially liable for the acts of minor wards.
Does a non-custodial parent face more risk in being sued than a custodial parent when insuring their 18 yr old child on their auto policy should an accident occur?
Custody would not be a factor at all in this case because your child is a legal adult.
You have rental insurance. Your boyfriend also on the lease and caused an injury by accident and he is being charged for neglegence. Can you be sued for personal injury?
This is not so simple a question to answer without more details, but in the UK if you have building and contents insurance which covers liability of the householders - that in…surance can be used to pay the liability of householder's negligence, but it would be your boyfriend that is sued. If however the accident happened on your premises - both occupier's can be sued depending on the circumstances of what happened. See the related link entitled "Occupiers Liability" to see the duty that is owed by an occupier of premises.
Could the parents of an 18 year old be sued if their daughter was in an accident driving the parents car on the parents insurance policy?
No i dont think because she was the one driving the car, i didnt mtter who it belonged to.
If they are the child's legal parent yes. The only way that they might be unresponsible is if the other parent had sole physical and legal custody. If they have joint custod…y but the child lives most of the time with the other parent they are still responsible.
Professional Liability insurance provides coverage for claims thatmay arise from the practice of your profession. Personal Liability Insurance provides coverage for claims th…at mayarise from your daily life activities.
It is meant to protect you in case you injure or kill another person.
Liability covers the other person that you damage. Uninsured and under-insured motorist coverage carries those in your vehicle. Medical payments coverage covers everyone i…nvolved regardless of fault.
Can parents be sued for liability for a child on their auto insurance policy while a child is not living with parent?
Yes , If still a minor the legal guardian (usually the parents) can be sued under parental liability statutes. Yes, if the child was driving the parents vehicle at the t…ime of the accident. No , If your daughter is over 18 or otherwise emancipated by law and not driving the parents vehicle.
Can parents be sued for liability for a child on their auto insurance policy while a daughter drives her own car and is not living with parent and a title of her car is on her parent's name?
Yes , The owner of a vehicle is just as liable for an accident as the driver. Both the driver and the Vehicle owner are both jointly and severally liable for the cost of an at… fault accident. Since you say the title is in the parents name, Then the Parents are in fact the legal owner of the vehicle as far as the state is concerned. The at fault driver is liable because they caused the accident, The Registered Owner is liable because the owner has a responsibility to ensure that all permissive use drivers have the appropriate insurance coverage before allowing them to operate the vehicle. Yes, If your daughter is still a minor, the legal guardian (usually the parents) can be sued under parental liability statutes even if the vehicle is not owned by the parents.