What age can a child ride in a booster seat in the front seat in kansas?
3 people found this useful
Although there is no law that prevents youngsters from sitting in the front seat of a vehicle, the safest place for a child in a car is in a rear seat, properly buckled into a child safety seat or a booster seat.. Air bags don't replace child safety seats and may increase the risk of serious injury… to children. Children younger than 13 should never ride in the front seats of vehicles with active passenger air bags.. http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/director_staff/Public_information/pr090705.htm (MORE)
Yes if the air bag has an on/off switch. But if this is a car with a back seat and not a vehicle with no back seat, place the child in the rear. This is the safest place for a child.
They can ride in the front at any age, but I don't know for legal pupuses. I mean in Wy. last time I checked it, it was 100 pounds or 8-9 years of age.
The new law is that the child either has to be 5 foot 1 or over 100 pounds.
Nevada children under the age of 12 need to be properly restrained in the back seat
By law, the PSP states that a child may ride in the front seatafter 8 years old / 4'9"/ 80 lbs.; however, the state police strongly recommend that all children under 11 years of ageride in the back seat rather than the front!
I have always thought that you had to be a certain weight to be in the front seat in Idaho. I think it is 60ib but I don't really know.
Usually a child should be 13 or older to ride in the front seat. If the child is too small then the front airbags can be dangerous and they may still need a booster seat. When they outgrow booster seats then they should be large enough to ride on the seat with just seatbelts. Always make sure they a…re buckled up! The back seat is usually safer for all children. Safety first and make sure everyone is buckled. Added: In many states the governing factor is NOT age, but height and weight. Check your local laws. (MORE)
Expert Answers Stephanie Tombrello, child passenger safety specialist . The answer in almost every case is not until he's at least 13 - and passenger safety organizations such as Safety BeltSafe U.S.A. recommend going even further and keeping your child in the backseat until he's ready to drive h…imself. Why? Because riding in the front seat simply isn't as safe as riding in the back. Buckling a child into the backseat instead of the front reduces by a third his risk of death in a collision. In a head-on crash (the most common - and deadly - type of collision), a child in the front seat can be thrown into your car's dashboard or through the windshield. Even if he's properly buckled in, he's at much greater risk for being harmed by objects intruding into the car in the front than in the back. What's more, in cars with passenger air bags (which includes most newer models), the air bags deploy with such force that they can cause severe head and neck injuries to a child. Nationwide, more than a hundred children have been killed by air bags in recent years, and many of these deaths were in slow-speed collisions that should have been minor. Infants and toddlers in rear-facing car seats are at extreme risk from air bags when placed in the front seat because the back of their car seat is so close to the dashboard. If, despite these very real dangers, you absolutely must put a non-rear-facing child in the front seat, check to see whether your car's air bag has an on-off switch, and if so, turn it off. If not, have an air-bag switch installed by a car dealership or one of the specialized companies that have sprung up to deal with this situation. (The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration maintains a list of companies that install air bag on-off switches; you'll need to get permission from this government organization before installing such a switch, however.) If you can't disable your passenger air bag, then have the child who's most securely restrained in a front-facing car seat with a full harness (in other words, the child who's least likely to wiggle out of his restraints, or, if your passengers have all moved out of the car seat phase, your biggest or tallest passenger) ride in the front seat, and move his seat as far back from the dashboard as possible. (MORE)
you have to be 12 and have to be over 48 inches and have to be able to see over the dashboard
In central Europe, children can go in the front seat with a child seat from the age of 8. In the US however, the minimum age is 12 Sasa Gavikova: Sorry for my english, i am cech. The minimum age of driving in the front sear in central europe in 8 with a child's seet. Jirina: from 2.03.…2009 to 2.8.2015 the minimum age of going in the front seat in central europe is 8 with a children's seet. (MORE)
The problem is the damage that airbags can do to a small child (or even a small adult). SOURCE: http://kidshealth.org/parent/firstai...vel/auto.html# When combined with safety belts, air bags protect adults and teens from injury during a collision. They have saved lives and prevented many seri…ous injuries. But infants and children can be injured or even killed if they are riding in the front passenger seat when an air bag opens. Air bags were designed with adults in mind: They need to open at up to 200 miles per hour to protect an average-sized, 165-pound (75-kilogram) male from injury. While this force is appropriate for adults and bigger kids, it can be dangerous for smaller passengers, possibly resulting in head and neck injuries. Protect kids from air bag injury by following these rules: * All kids 12 years old and younger should always ride in the back seat, and in the middle of the back seat whenever possible. All passengers must have their seat belts buckled. * Air bags present a serious danger for babies riding in rear-facing car seats. Never place a rear-facing infant seat in the front seat of a car that is equipped with a passenger-side air bag. # Child safety seats should be placed in the back seat. If you have no choice and must place a child in car seat in the front, push the passenger seat as far back as it will go. # A law passed in 1995 allows car manufacturers to install a manual cut-off switch that temporarily disables a passenger-side air bag. As recommended by National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, if you must place a child in a car seat in the front seat (that is, if your car is a two-seater or if the car seat will not fit in the back seat) and your car has this cut-off switch, disable the air bag for the duration of the ride. Be sure to switch the air bag back on when you remove the car seat. (MORE)
In Arizona a child must be at least 5 years old to not require a child restraint, however, a child restraint need not be placed in the back seat. It is unsafe for a child of under 12 to ride in the front seat if there is an air bag.
\ni dont think it is the age. It is the weight. I recommend over seventy pounds.
NEVER! Air bags, if deployed, can kill a small child (or seriously injur them). Not a good idea until they are in the teens and tall enough to have their head touch the headrest of the car seat.
Actually, in California it's: Children must ride properly buckled up, in the back seat, in a safety seat or booster until they are at least 6 years old OR weigh at least 40 lbs. Main exceptions: - A child under age 6 who weighs over 40 lbs. may wear a lap-only belt in the back seat if the vehi…cle has no shoulder belts in the back seat. - A child under age 6 who weighs less than 60 lbs. may ride in the front seat if there is no forwardfacing rear seat in the vehicle; the child restraint cannot be properly installed in a rear seat; all rear seats are occupied by other children under age 12; or for medical reasons. An infant (riding in a rear-facing child restraint or under one year or less than 20 lbs.) may not ride in front if there is an active passenger air bag. So if the child is older than 6 or weighs more than 40 pounds, or meets one of the exceptions, they can ride in the front seat. (MORE)
between the ages of 1-13 kids must ride in the back. But if your 15 and older you can ride in the front seat but, you must always wear your seat belt. (When 14, it varies on if the parent should allow you to sit up front or the back, for safety reasons, trust me im in the same situation) . I thin…k that is right (MORE)
There is not an age to sit in the front seat the child just has to be 4 feet and 8 inches tall and weigh at least 85 pounds. At least in MA!
It's not a certain age , but the size of your child. Once a child grows to 4'6" , ( or 54 inches ) it is safe to assume that in a normal vehicle seat , your child will be able to sit upright and comfortable without the risks that shorter and not fully devoloped children will have. It's like going to… an amuzement park , if your child is not allowed on the adult rollercoaster rides , your child should sit in the backseat. (MORE)
According to what I have read it is not reccommended whatsoever, but is not against the law as of right now. I got my information from this website.. . www.infant-car- seats .com/states/car- seats -laws- Ohio .html .
The new law is that the child either has to be 5 foot 1 and over 100 pounds, or 13.
no Only if the front airbag can be deactivated - this does not mean it is allowed in every state - some states have laws that mandate the child should be in the back seat until they weigh 85 lbs or are 14 years old -
The standard recommendation is 12 years old for a child to ride in the front seat because of the airbags. And the seat should be slid as far back as possible.
I'm pretty sure they can, but i don't think the law recomends it! anyway, i hope your birthday goes well this year!
That depends entirely upon your local rules of the road. In most places, it's age 10 over 4' tall and about 100 lbs inweight. That said, there are also entirely practical reasons to consider,other than the rules. It's simply dangerous for many children toride in the front seat.
6 and above. According to Georgia Law: . " ALL children under the age of six, regardless of how tall they are, must ride in the backseat of a car. A child is safer in the back and farthest away from the force of an airbag. Remember that airbags are designed to save adults, and since they deplo…y with great force they can be fatal to children. ". http://www.georgia.gov/00/article/0,2086,5426814_39039081_82157824,00.html (MORE)
9 or over would be a good age but u could start at 7 or 8
age limit is 3 with car seat in front seat, without car seat is 6. you can find this information in almost any car under the visor/sun protector. this is in Indiana and may vary from different states.
It doesent matter i looked up Kansas highway patrol and it said 80lb or 4.9"
Laws on age/weight requirements for front seat passengers vary by state. However, a general rule is that front seat passengers should be over the age of 12 and over 70-80 pounds. However, keep in mind that when driving with children, the back seat is always safer.
Children under 12-years of age must be restrained in the back seat of a car in the State of Texas.
Occupant restraints law in New York states: Each passenger under age 16 must wear a seat belt or use an appropriate child safety restraint system. The restraint system must comply with the child height and weight recommendations determined by the manufacturer. Depending on the size of the child, t…he restraint system may be a safety seat or a booster seat used in combination with a lap and shoulder belt. Further: For maximum protection, children under the age of 12 should sit in the rear seat of the vehicle. This imply that there is no age-limit regarding children to legally be allowed to sit in the front seat. Age as such does not always apply. Size however (below age of 16) does: A child more than four feet nine inches tall or more than 100 pounds is allowed to use a seat belt that has both a lap belt and a shoulder harness. To use the seat belt, the child must be able to sit straight up against the vehicle's seat back with his or her knees bent comfortably over the edge of the seat. The lap belt should be placed low and tight across the upper thighs; the shoulder belt should rest tightly but comfortably across the child's chest and shoulder (collar bone) without touching the throat. If the seat belt does not fit properly, the child should use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt. References: New York State's Seat Belt Law, see below related link. Although the above text have mostly been cut and pasted, this information is not protected by copyright's. The information provided is accurate as of 16'th of April 2010 but may be subject to later changes. (MORE)
I am not sure about NC, but in PA it is based upon weight. Here it is 40 pounds.
This depends on the state but usually children are not allowed in the front seat until they are 4'7" or a certain age. This means no child in a booster seat should be in the front seat as the airbags are not designed to work safelt with something like that in the front seat.
California law is not age-based, but weight-based. A child can sit in the front seat at 65 lbs.
New laws require a rear-facing car seat for children until at least age 1 and at least 20 pounds. Then a forward-facing car seat until the child is at least 5 years old or weighs 40 pounds. A booster seat is then required until 6 years of age. To follow the law, in Alabama, a child can be no younge…r than 5 years old and use a booster seat. (MORE)
12 is the youngest age to safely put in the front seat they way airbags are designed. legally there is no age limit, but if your car has airbags, you will probably kill your child if you crash. there are still seat belt laws. buckle up in the front seat. always.
In the state of New Jersey: Children under 8 years of age who weigh less than 80 pounds to ride properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle.. Sources: http://nj.gov/lps/hts/childseats/childseats_newlaw.html
Children 6-12 years of age that weigh over 60 pounds must be belted and riding in a rear seat
You must have no air bag on the passenger side, or be able to turn it off, in a vehicle like a pick-up, which has no back seat it is acceptable, If you have a back seat you should always put your child back there, its much safer
A child should never ride in a car seat placed in the front seat of a car-or in any seat near air bags. Also, keep in mind that your car could have side air bags for rear seats. The center back seat is usually the safest spot to place a car seat. There are some really helpful guidelines for the c…orrect installation and use of car seats on the Liberty Mutual Solutions site. You can find the guide--Car Seats 101--in the related links below. (MORE)
Every state seems to have different guidelines - some declare a certain age - others go by weight and height. You will have to check your own state's requirements.
It is the law that a child is out of the buster seat at age 8 and if they weigh over 30 pounds ANOTHER VIEW: There is no uniform nationwide law. The requirement for thiis changes from state-to-state. The only way to be certain is call your local DMV or law enforcement agency and ask.
i think it is 6 years old or over 40 lbs. under that they must be in a car seat n if you have the car seat in the front it must be facing the rear of the vehicle.
Although there is no law that prevents youngsters from sitting in the front seat of a vehicle, the safest place for a child in a car is in a rear seat, properly buckled into a child safety seat or a booster seat. Air bags don't replace child safety seats and may increase the risk of serious injury t…o children. Children younger than 12 should never ride in the front seats of vehicles with active passenger air bags. (MORE)
it depends mostly on weight and size, usually by 6 or 7 they might be tall enough or weigh enough to be out of one. look to your car seat for the shoulder height and weight. :)
40-80 pounds as one of the nation's most important child passenger safety priorities. However, the majority of America's 20 million children who should be riding in booster seats are not, according to the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA)Chairman Charley Smith.
It all depends on the country you live in, the standard is 12 years old though.
Different states have different regulations when it comes to how long children should ride in booster seats. Typically the average size and age is 4'9" tall and/or 8 to 10 years old. Check with your states guidelines to make sure your state's regulations are the same.
The legal age that a child can ride in the front seat in the state of Virginia is 8 years of age. This is because children can be fatally injured by airbags in the front seat.