answersLogoWhite
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships
Texas

Can a 17-year-old female leave home in the state of Texas without parental consent and without the police taking you back home?

323334

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-09-12 14:33:10
2011-09-12 14:33:10

I am in the same situation, im 17 and im trying to move out of my parents house, and they moved me to Fort Worth Texas and I was living in spring and they took me away from my boyfriend and all my friends and I wanna move out buy my parents are saying I cant but im going to do it anyways because im about to be 18.

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

No, you need parental consent if either person is under the age of 18.

User Avatar

Firstly both of you are minors , so no state will allow you to get married even if all the four parents give you both written permission.

User Avatar

In Mississippi, the age to get married without parental consent is 21 years of age. A male must be at least 17 and the female at least 15. Call the local court house and ask for the marriage license dept. They can tell you. It is usually what the age of maturity or consent is.

User Avatar

No she cannot. One must be at least 18 to get married without parental consent. It may be possible to get a court order.

User Avatar

No, the minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16 in Alabama (for both males and females).

User Avatar

Pretty much nowhere in the US. Offhand I can't think of any state that allows those under the age of 18 to marry without parental consent, with two notable exceptions: In some states minors are allowed to marry despite not having parental consent if the female half of the couple is pregnant, and in some states a judge is allowed to give consent in lieu of parental consent (though in practice this tends to boil down to essentially the same thing, as a judge is unlikely to override parental authority without an extremely compelling reason, such as pregnancy).

User Avatar

Yes, in Ontario at least. 16 with parental consent, 18 without. yes

User Avatar

No, pregnancy does not grant emancipation rights to a minor female regardless of her state of residency.

User Avatar

Fortunately for the ladies out there, it is Illegal to have intercourse with any female without their consent to you doing it. If you meant "without the parental consent" of the minor 16 year old.. The answer would be NO. It is not legal for a 19 year old to have intercourse with a minor.

User Avatar

Yes, with parental consent.

User Avatar

Marriage laws vary from state to state. Most states allow minors below 18 to marry with parental and/or judicial consent. Some states allow female minors who are pregnant to marry without parental or judicial consent.

User Avatar

There is no state where a minor can get married without parental consent or special circumstances/court approval.

User Avatar

Not without parental consent since the age of majority is 19 in Alabama.

User Avatar

Yes, please refer below and verify through your local court house. * United States: Usually 18. Most states, however, allow marriage at a younger age with parental and/or judicial consent. Some states allow marriage at a still younger age if the female is pregnant. There are a few states that have a higher age. * Alabama: 18, 16 with parental consent. (statute). * Alaska: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Arizona: no statutory minimum, under 18 with parental consent, under 16 with approval of a superior court judge and parental consent. (statute) * Arkansas: 18, 16 for females and 17 for males with parental consent.[13] * California: no statutory minimum, those under 18 must receive approval of a superior court judge, or parental consent. * Colorado: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Connecticut: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * District of Columbia: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Delaware: 18, 16 for females with parental consent.[14] * Florida: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Georgia: 18, 15 with parental consent, 16 without parental consent if pregnant.[14] * Hawaii: 18, 15 with parental consent.[14] * Idaho: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Illinois: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Indiana: 18, 17 with parental consent, 15 in the case of pregnancy with both parental and judicial consent.[15] * Iowa: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Kansas: 18, no minimum with parental consent.[14] * Kentucky: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Louisiana: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Maine: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Massachusetts: 18 for first marriage, 16 with parental and judicial consent [16]. * Maryland: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Michigan: 18, 16 with parental consent, 15 and under with parental consent and probate judge approval. * Minnesota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Mississippi: 21, 17 for males, 15 for females, with parental consent. * Missouri: 18, 15 with parental consent.[13] * Montana: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Nebraska: 19, 17 with parental consent.[14] * Nevada: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * New Hampshire: 18, 14 for males and 13 for females, in cases of "special cause" with parental consent and court permission. * New Jersey: 18, 16 with parental consent. * New Mexico: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * New York: 18, 16 with parental consent, 14 with parental and judicial consent. * North Carolina: 18, 16 with parental consent, unlimited in case of pregnancy or birth of child with parental consent. * North Dakota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Ohio: 18 for males, 16 for females, less with parental consent. * Oklahoma: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Oregon: 18, 17 with parental consent. The consenting parent or guardian must accompany the applicant when applying for the marriage license. * Pennsylvania: 18, 16 with Birth Certificate and written consent of parent or guardian, under 16 with parental consent and the approval of a Judge of the Orphans Court. (statute) * Puerto Rico: 21, 18 with parental consent.[13] * Rhode Island: 18, 16 for females with parental consent.[14] * South Carolina: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * South Dakota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Tennessee: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Texas: 18, 16 with parental consent. 14 with judicial consent or if person under 18 had previously married and divorced. * Utah: 18 for first marriage, 16 with parental consent, 15 with court approval.[17] * Vermont: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Virginia: 18, 16 with parental consent.[18] * Washington: 18, 17 with parental consent.[13] May be waived by superior court judge.(statute) * West Virginia: 18, 16 with parental consent, under 16 (unspecified limit) with parental and judicial consent[19][14] * Wisconsin: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Wyoming: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14]

User Avatar

Here is the answer to your question. Please verify this through your local court house. * United States: Usually 18. Most states, however, allow marriage at a younger age with parental and/or judicial consent. Some states allow marriage at a still younger age if the female is pregnant. There are a few states that have a higher age. * Alabama: 18, 16 with parental consent. (statute). * Alaska: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Arizona: no statutory minimum, under 18 with parental consent, under 16 with approval of a superior court judge and parental consent. (statute) * Arkansas: 18, 16 for females and 17 for males with parental consent.[13] * California: no statutory minimum, those under 18 must receive approval of a superior court judge, or parental consent. * Colorado: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Connecticut: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * District of Columbia: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Delaware: 18, 16 for females with parental consent.[14] * Florida: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Georgia: 18, 15 with parental consent, 16 without parental consent if pregnant.[14] * Hawaii: 18, 15 with parental consent.[14] * Idaho: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Illinois: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Indiana: 18, 17 with parental consent, 15 in the case of pregnancy with both parental and judicial consent.[15] * Iowa: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Kansas: 18, no minimum with parental consent.[14] * Kentucky: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Louisiana: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Maine: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Massachusetts: 18 for first marriage, 16 with parental and judicial consent [16]. * Maryland: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Michigan: 18, 16 with parental consent, 15 and under with parental consent and probate judge approval. * Minnesota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Mississippi: 21, 17 for males, 15 for females, with parental consent. * Missouri: 18, 15 with parental consent.[13] * Montana: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Nebraska: 19, 17 with parental consent.[14] * Nevada: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * New Hampshire: 18, 14 for males and 13 for females, in cases of "special cause" with parental consent and court permission. * New Jersey: 18, 16 with parental consent. * New Mexico: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * New York: 18, 16 with parental consent, 14 with parental and judicial consent. * North Carolina: 18, 16 with parental consent, unlimited in case of pregnancy or birth of child with parental consent. * North Dakota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Ohio: 18 for males, 16 for females, less with parental consent. * Oklahoma: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Oregon: 18, 17 with parental consent. The consenting parent or guardian must accompany the applicant when applying for the marriage license. * Pennsylvania: 18, 16 with Birth Certificate and written consent of parent or guardian, under 16 with parental consent and the approval of a Judge of the Orphans Court. (statute) * Puerto Rico: 21, 18 with parental consent.[13] * Rhode Island: 18, 16 for females with parental consent.[14] * South Carolina: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * South Dakota: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Tennessee: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Texas: 18, 16 with parental consent. 14 with judicial consent or if person under 18 had previously married and divorced. * Utah: 18 for first marriage, 16 with parental consent, 15 with court approval.[17] * Vermont: 18, 16 with parental consent.[13] * Virginia: 18, 16 with parental consent.[18] * Washington: 18, 17 with parental consent.[13] May be waived by superior court judge.(statute) * West Virginia: 18, 16 with parental consent, under 16 (unspecified limit) with parental and judicial consent[19][14] * Wisconsin: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14] * Wyoming: 18, 16 with parental consent.[14]

User Avatar

No. In the state of TX, pregnant or not, a minor needs parental permission in order to marry.

User Avatar

Being provided for is irrelevant. A 17-year-old is a minor and therefore, unless they have been emancipated, their parents get to decide where they live. At 18, you can move anywhere you want without parental consent.

User Avatar

Anywhere. Just go and apply for a marriage license with the proper proof of parental consent.

User Avatar

In many states, she wouldn't be legally allowed to do this. In Michigan however, a 17 year old can legally move out of their parents house at the age of 17 without their consent.

User Avatar

the last time i heard in texas you are an adult when you turn 17 in Texas but don't trust me.

User Avatar

No, you have to be at least 16. And even then it's REALLY hard to get emancipated. I am 17 and found out today that I can't be emancipated without parental consent.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.