answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, you cannot just return it to the dealer. The dealer has nothing to do with this unless the dealer is also the lender. You must return it to the entity who loaned you the money to buy the car in the first place. It is their car until you pay for it. This is called a voluntary repossession. You will be required to pay the deficiency. That is the difference in what you owe on the vehicle and what they sell it for at auction or private sale. Your credit will also be ruined for 7 years. You will save repossession fees by turning it in voluntarily.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-26 23:45:55
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you return a new car to the dealer because you cannot afford it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Missouri?

Once you sign the papers, it is your car. You cannot return it unless the dealer agrees to the return.


Can you return a faulty car back to a dealer after five weeks?

You can usually return a faulty car back to the dealer, but to be repaired. You cannot return a car unless the dealer refuses to have it repaired.


If you buy a car from the dealer and you can not afford it and want to return it can you?

No, not unless the selling dealer agrees to take it back which is highly unlikely. You bought it and you are stuck with it.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Illinois?

You cannot return a car to the dealer. The buyer's remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle of any kind.


How long do you have to return a used car to dealer in ind?

You cannot return it. The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Arkansas?

You cannot return a car you bought. It is a myth that the Buyers Remorse Law applies to the purchase of a vehicle. It does not.


Can you return a newly purchased vehicle back to the dealer within twenty four hours in the state of Louisiana?

No, you cannot.


You can no longer afford your vehicle what do you do?

Sell it to Car active where you can get cash in return for your old or unwanted cars.


You bought a car for your fiance and now the wedding is off you need to get rid of the car Can you return the car to the dealer And how will this affect your credit?

In general, you cannot return a car to a dealer. You can sell it back to them, though. Selling it won't affect your credit.


Is there any amount of time to return a car to a dealer?

No, Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period Laws do not apply to the purchase of a new or used car in any state. You cannot return any car because you changed your mind. You bought it and you own it.


If you have two years left on a leased vehicle but you can no longer afford the payments can you return the car to the dealer?

You will have to pay any balance due after the car is sold and then it ruins your credit.


Can you return a car bought from a dealer if car broke in less then 2 months?

Yes but it would be worth less money than before because of the damage. If you are asking can you return it for a refund, the answer is NO if you bought it "As Is". If it has a warranty then the dealer will repair it. Talk to the selling dealer.


Why does a dealer sell you a car and then tell you to return it because your credit did not go through?

That would happen only if the dealer has extremely poor business practices.


How long do you have to return a motorcycle to the dealer?

depends on your contract agreement and if it was under warranty. most likely you can return it if you talk to the dealer.


How long do you have to return a car to dealer in new york?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


Can you return a new car in Virginia?

There is no buyer's remorse law in Virginia. You cannot return a new car unless the dealer will allow you to. They will usually require a fee of some sort to restock the car.


Can you return a used car in Iowa?

NO. You cannot return a car you bought in any state, unless the dealer agrees to take it back. The cooling off period laws do not apply to the purchase of autos.


What the policy to return a used car to the dealer with 24 hours of the purchase?

You cannot return it. The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle. You bought the car and you now own it.


How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Canada?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


Can you return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract?

You can return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract depending on the type of mistake. If the dealer place the wrong vehicle on the contract, you could return the vehicle.


Can you return a car to the dealer for a new one if you notice defects after you purchase it?

NO. You can take it back to the dealer for repair, but unless it is a Lemon and qualifies under your states Lemon Law, you cannot get another vehicle.NO. You can take it back to the dealer for repair, but unless it is a Lemon and qualifies under your states Lemon Law, you cannot get another vehicle.


How to do a voluntary return on a car?

Basically you call the company you got the loan from and tell them you cannot afford the car and you want to voluntarely have it repo'd, they will walk you thru the rest


Can you return a new car in Ohio?

You cannot return a new car in Ohio. You can contact the bank and tell them you don't want the car and cancel financing but you could still be stuck with the deal you signed with the dealer.


If you return a motorcycle 30 days of purchase from a dealer what can they do in North Carolina?

You cannot just return a vehicle you bought. It is yours or the lender's who loaned you the money to buy it. There is no cooling off period on the purchase of a vehicle.


Can you return a new car in the state of Florida?

NO, there is no cooling off period on the purchase of any vehicle, new or used, in any state. You cannot return a new car that is used car once you buy it. The only way you can return it is if the dealer agrees to the return which is highly unlikely.