Judaism
Kosher Food
Turkeys

Did the Hebrews eat turkey?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2013-12-25 19:30:58

No. The bird we know as turkey is a bird native to the Americas.

Since the Hebrew people were in the Mediteranean area, they could

not have had the bird. It is, however, accepted as a kosher species

throughout the contemporary Jewish world.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.