Used Car Buying
Taxes and Tax Preparation
Sales Tax

Does an Oregon resident have to pay sales tax when buying a used car from a private seller?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2013-03-20 15:16:42
2013-03-20 15:16:42

In most states, the buyer of a used car from a private person would pay use tax to the state they plan to register the car in. This payment normally doesn't happen until the purchaser visits the DMV office to register the vehicle.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


If you are a GA resident, you do not have to pay sales tax as long is it is a private seller, even if out of state private seller.


While you do not need an attorney, it is best to have an agent represent you.





Most cars sold by private parties are just fine, however you should always exercise common sense when buying from a private seller.


Yes- but only from a dealer. You may not buy a firearm from a private seller in ANY state other than your own.


"The average price for a 2007 Pontiac G6 in good condition is around $10,000 used. It depends if you are buying it from a private seller or a dealer. A private seller tends to have them from a better price then a dealership would."


No, you've already paid taxes on it when you bought it, so the one buying it from you is the one who will pay the sales tax.


Taxes are paid in California at the time you register the car with the Department Of Motor Vehicles. You do not pay tax to the person you are buying from.


Yes- if the purchase is from a licensed Dealer. A private seller may only sell to a resident of his home state, or to a licensed Dealer/ Collector in any state. A handgun may only be purchased in your home state, but a rifle or shotgun may be purchased in another state. (Except California, which has a state law that prohibits its citizens from buying guns in another state)


Probably not. That's pretty much up to the seller. But in court it will probably be counted as rent paid towards the car during the time the buyer used it and the buyer won't get the money back. If the buyer were paying on the car, but never had it in their possesion, it might be different. But I'd still say that it's up to the seller.


online, car dealership or a private seller!


was there a guarantee or was it sold as is?


Take the gun to a licensed seller, and get the address for a licensed seller in Indiana, have them ship the gun to Indiana.


You can find a secondhand car from a dealer or a private seller. If you choose a private seller, use a service like kellybluebook.com to double check the deal, and have a mechanic check the car before purchase. Also, dealers frequently have sales and specials, so make sure you check the dealers near you for special deals.


Just checked with Tax and Tag office in Grady County (Cairo Georgia) and the answer is no. You only have to pay tax if the purchase is from a dealer.



Yes they can, after a 3 day waiting period and assuming the person has no felonies and is a legal resident of the United States. Also it must be from a private seller, not licensed dealer.


"As with all vehicles, the worth can vary depending on the condition of the interior and exterior. Buying a used 2002 Chevy Malibu from a private seller will run you somewhere in the $4000.00 range. When buying from a dealer, the price will be inflated."


Some Questions should be asked when buying a Used Car from a private seller like : How many miles are on the odometer? Why are you selling the car? How would you describe your used car's condition? Who was this vehicle bought from? Where was this car bought? What kind of oil do you use in the car? What are you willing to sell the car for? How long of a test drive can i take? Are you willing to let me get this inspected independently? What's the last used car you sold?


Yes. When buying a car from a private seller, the purchaser should get a signed bill of sale from the seller, which includes the sale price and identifying information about the vehicle, including the Vehicle Information Number. The purchaser then reports the sale price when registering and titling the car, using the Department of Motor Vehicle's Form DTF-802. Sales tax is paid at that time.


A gun shop. A gun show. A private seller.


You need to have Builder's Club.


You must be in BC, TBC, or OBC.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.