answersLogoWhite

0

  • Car Buying
  • Auto Loans and Financing
  • Used Car Buying

How many days do you have to return a new car?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2012-10-05 03:35:49

Best Answer
Copy

Many states have laws that allow consumers a "buyer's remorse" period. That means that the consumer can return the item within a specific number of days. Unfortunately, I do not know which state would apply to your purchase.

If you had bought a "used" car, then you would likely have more options, however it appears that you purchased a brand new car. If you had financed the car thru the dealership where you bought the car, it is highly likely that you were charged much more in interest than if you had gone thru a bank for the financing.

If you feel that you had been mis-led by the dealer - whether on the price of the car, or on the financing, etc., you could consider doing the following:

1 - Review the purchase contract to see if there are any provisions for returning the car.

2 - Approach the dealer ASAP & tell them that you need to return the car.

You need to get their answer in writing - this way you can prove what was said.

3 - If you feel that you had been unfairly dealt with you can inform the dealership that you plan to file a formal complaint with the Federal Trade Commission.

4 - File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission.

5 - Note - some states may not have any provision for consumers to return purchases.

Good luck.

Here is the Federal Trade Commission contact info:

visit http://www.ftc.gov

or she can call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357)

2012-10-05 03:35:49
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: How many days do you have to return a new car?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

How many days can you return a new car purchased in Florida?

Zero.. there is no return policy


In New Jersey how many days to you have to return a new car you purchased from a car dealer?

Read the contract that you signed when you made the purchase


How many days to return used car in Texas?

You cannot return a new or used car period. The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of any vehicle.


In NJ can you return a new car if you only have it 2 days?

no


How long can you return a car if you didnt take possession of it?

On a new car it is 3 days after you pay for it.


You live in Georgia and brought a new car how long do you have to return it?

Once a contract has been entered for a new car in Georgia an owner cannot return the car. However, many dealerships will work with consumers and allow vehicles to be returned within a few days.


How many days to return a car in Indiana?

None, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


Can you return a new car in Louisiana?

You may return a vehicle within 3 business days of purchase and get a refund.


How many days in California to return a defective car?

In California the car must of had two repair attempts that could cause death, four repair attempts that would not cause death, or 30 days where the car could not be used. The period in which you can return a new car is 18 months or 18,000 miles.


What is the return policy of returning a new car in Illinois?

3 days. I believe any time you enter a contract for auto's you have 3 days to return it.


How many days in Texas to return a defective used car?

You cannot return it. There is no new or used car return law in any state including Texas. The Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


How many days do you have to return a car to the dealership?

None, the buyers remorse laws do not apply to the purchase of any vehicle new or used in any state. You bought the car and you own the car.


Do you have 30 days to return a car?

There are different laws based on if a car is new or used. In used cars, you need to get any return policy in writing. In new car sales, it also has to be spelled out although some states of lemon laws which allow of the return of defective new cars.


Can I return a new car in Maine?

Return a car


Can you return a new car in sc?

No you can not return a new car in South Carolina.


How many days is take you to go Alaska by car from New York?

how many days is take me to go alaska by car from new york


How many days after buying a used car in pa can you return it?

None, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


What is the New York law on returning a used car with no warranty how many days do you have to return a used car with no warranty?

You cannot return a used or new car with or without a warranty. The cooling off period or buyer's remorse law does not apply to the purchase of an automobile. It only applies to unsolicited purchases.


3 day new car return policy?

A 3 day new car return policy is a myth. Unless it says so in your contract, or your state has a 3 day return law, you are stuck with your new car for the terms that were agreed upon. The only exception is if under a lemon law, there is something majorly wrong with the car within the first 30 days or so many hundred miles.


Can you return a new car in Washington state?

After a car purchase, can I return the car?


Can you return a new car you just go two days ago for a higher priced version of the same car?

The car you bought was a new car but the car you are returning is a used car. It has lost quite allot of value in the 2 days you owned. Legally you cannot return the car but the selling dealer may agree considering you are buying a higher priced version of the same car. You are basically trading in your used 2 day old car on a new car. This will cost you dearly.


What states have the 3 day return new car policy?

I PURCHASED A used CAR and don't need to keep it due to health problems! CAN I RETURN IT to dealer within 3 days of purchase ?


Can you return a new car that had some scratches?

You can return it to get the scratches repaired. Did you not inspect the car for scratches before you took delivery? You cannot return it for a refund as it is no longer a new car. It is a used car.


How long do someone has to return new 2013 car that is giving problems after just 9 days?

What makes you think you can return the car? Once you purchase a vehicle used or new you own it. If it is a new vehicle it has become a used vehicle after you bought it and it is worth far less than 9 days earlier when you drove it off the lot. There is no law allowing you to return the vehicle. However you can return the vehicle for repair as this vehicle is under warranty.


How long after a purchase of a new car from a dealer can it be returned?

There is no return policy on a vehicle. California just passed a law about this but I am not sure of the particulars. People mistakenly think they have three days to return a car and that is false.