Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out

How old do you have to be in the state of Alabama to get emancipated if you have a child and a place to live?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2007-01-30 02:46:05
2007-01-30 02:46:05

You must be 19, or 18 with a court order in Alabama.

User Avatar

Related Questions

There is no state where a minor becomes emancipated by having a child. The age of emancipation remains 18. The minor mother is only medically emancipated and emancipated regarding making decisions for her child.

This depends on the state laws in which you live. In Alabama once you have a child you are considered an adult. This does not matter if you are twelve or seventeen, if you have one kid you are automatically emancipated in the laws eyes. A good idea would be to see what your state laws are on child birth and/or emancipation.

No you don't automatically get emancipated because you are pregnant or have a child in any state.

In the state of Alabama , a child can loose her child support if she gets pregnant.

No. Having a child does not emancipate a minor in any state.

You must have parental consent or be emancipated.

No, they are not emancipated. Having a child does not change the age of adulthood.

There is absolutely no state in which a thirteen year old could be emancipated.In a case where a child may be living in a situation of parental abuse, the state would step in and take custody of the child until the minor reached the age of 18.The state would then place the child in either foster care or into a youth center until the age of 18.

The age varies from state to state. In the state of Missouri a child can be emancipated at the age of 16.

yes a prent can have their child emancipated at the age of 16 usually but every state has there own laws check with a legal aid attorneyAnsweryes a prent can have their child emancipated at the age of 16 usually but every state has there own laws check with a legal aid attorney

{| |- | Alabama does not have an emancipation act. The age of majority is 19. There is an act that will allow an 18 year old to sign contracts. |}

To have a child become emancipated requires a lawyer and court hearing.

If the child is emancipated, which generally means self-sufficient, the obligor should be able to get the order for support terminated. Certainly, if the child is still under the obligations of the parents, you can file for custody, if if no emancipation takes place. If the child refuses parental control, than file to have them emancipated, but state laws vary from state to state on this. In New York, child support continues to age 21, regardless of where the child lives. see links below

No, pregnancy does not grant emancipation in Alabama or any other state. You must reach the age of majority in your state.

A minor can get emancipated at the age of 16 in the state of Maine. The minor will have to get an attorney to represent them in court and to file paperwork for the judge to hear the case.

How do you get emancipated in the state of Missouri?

Yes, you pay until your child is emancipated. Pregnancy does not emancipate in any state.

At 18 you became legally emancipated according to the state. * Some states allow child support to continue beyond the age of 18 if the child is in school. I

When 18 years old, pregnant, or parenting.

NOAnother View: If the child is legally emancipated or of legal adult age in their state, yes they can.

No, you are obligated to care for your minor child until they are emancipated and this would be child abandonment.

Yes, if the 17 year old is emancipated then they are considered an adult. They can make their own decisions and get married if they want. Parents can not stop an emancipated child from doing anything, the court considered an emancipated child to be 18 years old.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.