For New York, I think the answer is yes, *legally*, but a "driver in the household not listed on the insurance" is wrong contractually with your insurance company.
I am trying to research this on the internet and here are my discoveries so far for New York State :
(1) Drivers in your household who have their own vehicle
(2) Drivers in your household without a vehicle, i.e. child/older parent.
(3) Driver not in your household who uses your vehicle regularly, i.e. personal assistant, someone who drives you to errands, child who borrows your car.
[ Kids away at college 10 months are in your household I think ]
You must tell your insurance about (2) or (3) , even if they will never drive your vehicle. Apparently, even if they are not family. You must tell them about a (1) if they will be using your vehicles.
Any driver you permit to drive your vehicle is (by law ??) insured, but if a loss or ticket occurs with a (2) or (3) you may (probably will) get dropped by the insurance company and spend a lot more $ getting back on with someone else.
Watch out for catches like what I'm trying to research - I have my 2 vehicles for my wife and I, My 25 yr old son has his vehicle off the road (unregistered, but insured) for 3 months, does my 21 year old daughter with her own vehicle need to put him on her insurance too ?
You can drive an insured vehicle if you're not on the policy because when the police pull you over they are looking to see if you have insurance on the car. But to answer the question...NO, it's not legal to drive the insured vehicle if your not on the policy. As always, check with your insurance agent, but anyone driving the auto with the policy owner's permission should be covered. However, ALL licensed drivers residing in the household are supposed to be listed on the policy.
It depends how old are you and whether or not you are an insured driver under the terms of the terms of your Dad's insurance policy. Your Dad's insurance agent can tell you if you are insured to drive the vehicle.
Automobile Insurance follows the vehicle. As long as there is permission to drive by the owner (insured) the coverages that are on the vehicle will apply. I agree with the first answer.
Depends on the state laws. Typically driver insurance coverage is extended to any driver of the vehicle insured. Insurance covers the vehicle and any legally licensed driver with permission to operate the vehicle.
not generally.........insurance stays with the car...............in other words, unless you or ''other drivers'' are excluded from a vehicle policy, whomever drives that vehicle WITH PERMISSION is an ''insured driver'' of that vehicle.
The insurance status of the victim's vehicle is irrelevant. The at-fault insurance company will pay for your damages whether your car is insured or not.
Auto insurance typically covers the car, not the driver. So, if you have insurance on your vehicle, but you drive another vehicle that doesn't have insurance, you are not protected by your policy if you have an accident in that other vehicle. However, if you have insurance on your vehicle, and you lend it to a driver (from another household) who does not have his or her own insurance, they will be covered by your policy while they are driving your car.
Usually the insurance on the vehicle covers any driver who has the permission of the owner of the vehicle to drive the car.
If you are a first named insured on your policy then your liability coverage would extend to any non-owned private passenger vehicle you have permission to operate.
You can get company vehicle insurance at www.iaai.com.
The best advice I can give you as an insurance agent is not to allow people who are not listed on your insurance policy to drive your vehicles, ever. This is not to say your company will not cover someone driving your vehicle with your permission but it will bring up questions. Insurance companies are very wary these days about unlisted drivers who have claims driving an insured vehicle. Your policy states that you must notify all residents of your household as well as any regular driver of any of your vehicles. I have seen several occasions where claims are denied because the insured did not comply with these requirements. This is not to say you can't lend a vehicle to a friend whose car will not start one morning. Just remember you are also loaning them your insurance and your insurance record. How many days makes them a regular driver? A child who lives at college is still a resident of your household. Be very careful jeopardizing your insurance record that you have worked to build up.
Absolutely. You are responsible for making sure the vehicle that you are driving is insured. It does not make any difference that you have other car insurance or even that the owner of the vehicle has other insurance. If there is not insurance on the vehicle you are driving then you are guilty.
You do not need to be the owner of the vehicle in order to be insured while driving the vehicle. Most states require all drivers of a vehicle to be included in the insurance policy.
The owner of the vehicle buys the insurance -- for the vehicle. Cars are insured, not drivers.
Insurance collision is a form of automobile insurance that covers physical damage. In most situations the insurer pays for the insured injuries, damage to the vehicle of the insured, and if the insured is at fault it pays for the damage to the other vehicle, and the other driver.
The vehicle is insured not the individual. You can pay for and obtain the insurance in the name of the owner with you listed as an insured operator.
Yes, if she has not been previously excluded in writing. If she is going to be a regular operator of the vehicle then she needs to be listed as an operator on the policy. An automobile insurance policy coveres named insured, family and anyone who with PERMISSION drives the vehicle.
I sense that this person driving your car without permission is a resident of your household. Without a police report of the theft of your vehicle then the person driving your car, especially if they are a resident of your household and reasonably knew where to find the keys, would have presumptive permission to use the car and your insurance will have to pay.
You do not have to be the original owner to be on the insurance. You just need to call the insurance carriers company and ask that you be added as a driver on that vehicle.
If its your own vehicle you can enter the reg number at www.askmid.com this will tell you if the vehicle is on the Motor Insurance Database. It will not notify you if the driver in question is insured to drive the vehicle. For use with your own vehicle only.
If you gave permission then it should be covered.
Is driving without insurance
Call the insurance company that the owner uses and ask them if it was insured. If you aren't sure what insurance company was used, DMV records should say whether the vehicle was insured or not.
If the car that was involved, in an acident was insured yea!