answersLogoWhite
Custody
Divorce and Marriage Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
California

In California how old does a child of divorced parents have to be to be able to have input on visitation?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-08-24 21:33:38

There is no set age. It all depends on the maturity of the child and what the judge or mediator thinks.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Can a parent deny visitation to the other parent if child receives bad grades?

No. Visitation rights for divorced or unmarried parents cannot be dictated by the parents in a manner you described. If a parent feels like there have been a change of circumstances or that a parent is acting against the best interests of the child then the parents need to go back to court and modify the child visitation agreement.


What age in Virginia can a child of divorced parents decide they want to stop visitation with their out of state father?

See related link


Who was the child that divorced his parents?

who ws the child that divorced his parents and what year did he do it


How do you stop visitation of divorced parent?

You probably don't - in general, the law supports the idea that both parents should be in the child's life. If you feel that visitation might harm the child in some way, you can ask the courts to require supervised visitation, or visitation limited to public places.


Do you have to be divorced to get visitation in Mississippi?

If married you have equal rights to the child so no visitation needed. If you never been married you have to petition the court for visitation rights.


In California a father wants no custody or visitation does he still have an obligation to pay child support?

Yes, though in California the child support and visitation are linked. The less time you parent the child, the more you pay.


Can the mother keep the child from seeing his dad if he is paying child support?

Yes, they can. My parents are divorced. They got divorced when my mother was 8 months pregnant with me. My father paid child support until he got sick of it. But anyways, my mum kept me, and I'm still with her, 13 years, and same as my sister. :) Payment of child support does not, in itself, confer any right to visitation. However, the custodial parent must abide by any visitation orders. In many States, violation of a visitation order is a crime.


What age can a child decide if they want to go for visitation in Idaho?

It is not up to the child to EVER decide if they want to go to visitation. Visitation is court ordered and the other parent has the RIGHT to see the child. As long as the visitation order is in effect, the child must go to the visitation. This is because parents plot and scheme and brainwash their children into believing that the other parent is the anti christ (custodial parents). Both parents should be encouraging a productive relationship between any child and their other natural parent. The child can decide to do whatever they want when the court ordered visitation expires or they reach the age of 18.


Can there be an upward modification of child support when non custodial parent loses visitation?

Visitation and child support are separate issues. One does not depend on the other. Parents must provide support for their children. There are many variations in visitation rights and those do not generally affect child support obligations.Visitation and child support are separate issues. One does not depend on the other. Parents must provide support for their children. There are many variations in visitation rights and those do not generally affect child support obligations.Visitation and child support are separate issues. One does not depend on the other. Parents must provide support for their children. There are many variations in visitation rights and those do not generally affect child support obligations.Visitation and child support are separate issues. One does not depend on the other. Parents must provide support for their children. There are many variations in visitation rights and those do not generally affect child support obligations.


Can divorced parent have a person to whom they are not married sleep in the home during child visitation?

Yes.


What age can a child refuse visitation in Montana?

When they are 18. if the child do not want to go and the parents agree on this they have to go back to court and modify the visitation order. Until then the parents are responsible for the child going so the court order is followed.


Is it kidnapping if a parent takes child out of state when it is not that parents visitation?

yes.


Where can parents find a child visitation lawyer?

Parents can find a child visitation lawyer on the 'Legal Match' website and by clicking on the 'Find Your Lawyer Now' link. One can also find them on the 'Attorneys' website.


What age in Calif can a child refuse visitation?

18 unless the parents let the child choose.


Are Niall Horan's parents divorced?

yes they are they get divorced when he was just a little child :(


What age can a child decide if they want to go for visitation in Massachusetts?

A minor child cannot choose. As long as there is a court ordered visitation the parents are obligated to fulfill it and make the child go.


What can be changed after a California divorce is final?

Generally only the child support and visitation schedule are subject to modification.Generally only the child support and visitation schedule are subject to modification.Generally only the child support and visitation schedule are subject to modification.Generally only the child support and visitation schedule are subject to modification.


Can a daughter-in-law deny her husband's mother visitation rights to see her son in California?

Grandparents are eligible to file for visitation rights in California. Grandparents can usually only file for visitation if the parents are unmarried. Provisions for filing while the parents are married include the parents are living separately, a parent's whereabouts are unknown for a month or more, the child has been adopted by a stepparent or the child does not live with either parent. Filing does not guarantee visitations will be granted. Also, the prior relationship status between grandparent and child, what is in the child's best interest, and parent's rights are considered before a decision is made.


Why do children have no rights when it comes to visitation when their parents are divorced?

The courts try to be fair for the sake of the children and sometimes it is not always the right decision. Most courts feel that a child is better off spending quality time with both mother and father when they are divorced.


Do grandparents have rights in California?

Yes, but they can not petition for visitation if the parents are married. You can file for visitation if: 1. the parents are living separately 2. a parent's whereabouts are unknown for a month or more 3. the child has been adopted by a stepparent or the child does not live with either parent. 4. if the grandparent is joined in that petition by one of the parents. The right to visitation is based on a pre-existing relationship that has "engendered a bond." The court considers what is in the best interest of the child and the parents' rights and authority to make decisions about the child. You can read more in the link below.


Can a child get emancipated from one of their parents so they don't have to go back to that parent's home for visitation?

No. If the child is a minor and there is a standing visitation order it can only be modified by the court.No. If the child is a minor and there is a standing visitation order it can only be modified by the court.No. If the child is a minor and there is a standing visitation order it can only be modified by the court.No. If the child is a minor and there is a standing visitation order it can only be modified by the court.


When can a child say no to visitation with parent in California?

See related question below


Can you get divorced in Missouri while pregnant?

No, child custody & visitation can't be determined until after the birth of the child. And then there's the case of paternity as well.


Do grandparents have legal visitation rights in California?

They don't have any automatic rights, but they do have the right to petition the court for visitation. However, if the child's parents are married then the grandparents can only petition under certain circumstances (ie the parents are separated, the child doesn't live with either parent, etc).


Do both parents have to sign for child to have tattoo if parents are divorced?

billy no they do not lol