answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There is no explanation of why a seated judge would impart such information. There are not laws in any state that allow a minor to move from home and yet still hold the parents financially and legally responsible. That would be akin to saying someone is responsible for an arsonist burning down their home because they had matches on the premises. The legal age of majority in Georgia is 18. If a minor leaves home without parental consent the parents can have them returned to their custody by means of a court order. If the minor arbitrarily leaves the family home the parents are not obligated to support said minor nor could they be held legally responsible the minor's actions. You cannot be penalized by the law for something of which you had no control over. The judge may have meant that if a 17-year-old leaves home without parental permission, the parents should, for their own protection, petition the court to be relieved of their parental obligations.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-04-25 03:37:02
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In Georgia a judge made the statement that a 17-year-old could leave home but the parents would still be responsible for them until they reached 18 is this a law?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a 17 year old girl move out of her parents home in Georgia?

No, you are still not 18 yet, the age of majority in Georgia. Until then your parents are responsible for you.


Can you move out of the house in the state of Georgia if you are 15 years old going on 16?

In Georgia you must have a court order or your parents permission. As a minor your parents are still responsible for you.


What is the legal age in ga. to move out of parents house?

The age of majority, which is 18 in Georgia. Until then the parents are responsible.


What are emancipation laws in Georgia?

{| |- | The age of majority in Georgia is 18. They do not have an emancipation act. Legally the parents are responsible until they reach that age. |}


What is legal age in GA if parent no longer responsible?

When a child reaches the age of 18 in Georgia the parents are no longer required to be responsible for them.


In Georgia if a child moves out at the age of seventeen is the parent still legally responsible for that child?

No, by law in the state of Georgia if a child willingly moves out of the parents home, him/her gaurdians are no longer responsible for that child.


How old do you have to be to move out your parents home in the state of Georgia?

You have to reach the age of majority. In most places, including Georgia, that means you have to be at least 18 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.


How old do you have to be to move out of your parents home in the state of Georgia?

You have to reach the age of majority. In most places, including Georgia, that means you have to be at least 18 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.


What is the age at which a person is considered emancipted in Georgia?

{| |- | The age of majority in Georgia is 18. They do not have an emancipation act. Legally the parents are responsible until they reach that age. |}


Can a 16 year old leave home in georgia without being forced to return?

No, they may be returned to their parents. Until they are 18, the parents are responsible for them.


Can you move out as a minor in Georgia?

Only if you have parental permission (even then your parents are still responsible) or you've been emancipated.


Can a landlord in Augusta Georgia evict a tenant with children?

Sure! Remember, parents or guardians are responsible for their children, not landlords!


Can a 17-year-old move in with a friend and their family without parental consent in Georgia?

No, they have not reached the age of majority in Georgia. Until then the parents have to be responsible and make the decisions.


Are parents held accountable for the misdemeanors of their 17 yr old children in Georgia?

Yes, they are held responsible. Until they are 18 years of age the parents are in charge.


Can a 16 year old move out in gerogia?

Not without parental permission in Georgia. Until they reach 18 the parents are responsible for him.


Is 17 years old a minor or an adult in Georgia?

They are a minor until they turn 18. The parents are still responsible for them in the eyes of the law.


Can you leave home at the age of 17 in GA?

Not in Georgia, until you are an adult, the parents are responsible for you. That would be 18 and until then they determine where you live.


Can you get child support if the father is in prison from his parents?

No. His parents are not responsible for financially supporting his child.No. His parents are not responsible for financially supporting his child.No. His parents are not responsible for financially supporting his child.No. His parents are not responsible for financially supporting his child.


Who is responsible for a baby if the mother is 16in the state of Georgia?

The one who has custody. If she is a minor her parents have responsibility over her but she still is the guardian of her child and makes the decisions.


Are parents in KY responsible for collage cost?

No. States do not hold parents responsible for collage cost


A short poem about the parents and for the parents?

This is a statement . Not a question.


If you are 19 and your girlfriend is 16 can you legally get married without her parents' permission in the state of Georgia?

No, she would need the consent of both parents or the parent who has full custodial rights (or a legal guardian). The exception is pregnancy, she then will not need parental consent but must present a statement to the court, from a licensed Georgia physician validating the pregnancy.


How long are parents responsible for the care of children?

Parents are responsible for the care of their children until age 18.


Who is the responsible for a spoiled child parents teachers chiled himself?

i thin parents are responsible for a spoild child


When is a child no longer considered a minor in GA?

{| |- | Once the age of majority is reached, they are no longer a minor. In Georgia, the age is 18. At that point the parents are no longer responsible for the child. |}