answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes! This is not legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Consult the specific laws for the state and county in which you reside for the rules that apply. In most states, any 18 year old is considered an adult and is capable of deciding when and where they reside. They have the ability to contract for housing. SOME states allow minors to become emancipated under specific circumstances, but this is not just a matter of filling out some paperwork. A minor is the responsibility of their parents until such time as they reach the age of majority or are legally emancipated. The parents are required to provide for the support of their minor children. If the parents give permission, the minor can live in another location. Such permission does not relieve the parents of the responsibility to provide support. If the parents do not give permission, the minor can be considered a runaway. Charges may apply to individuals that aid and abet such runaways, particularly if they are under the age of consent. In some states it is my understanding that this is not enforced for 17 year olds that leave home. If you are subject to abuse, you should contact social services for your area. They will assist you in getting out of the bad environment and into a safe place. ----- I was told this by juvinal officers and police men when i moved out, the parent has to pay any medical bills you may have until you are 18, and they are responcible if you get arrested/ put in jail, exc. they do not have to give you money, but if your starving, and you go to their house, they can not refuse to feed you. I live in cass county, Missouri, that is what my law enforcers told me, it'd be best to ask the ones in your county/ state to make sure their isn't any thing else.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-09 17:18:44
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

ADD-ADHD

24 cards

What are protective factors

Name the worlds hardest-riddle ever.

How can you tell if a person has ADHD

What are the effects of Juveniles been trial in adult court

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In Missouri if a child moves out at the age of 17 is the parent still legally responsible for that child?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Are father and stepmom responsible for child support?

The biological parent is legally responsible for paying child support. A step parent is not legally responsible for paying child support.The biological parent is legally responsible for paying child support. A step parent is not legally responsible for paying child support.The biological parent is legally responsible for paying child support. A step parent is not legally responsible for paying child support.The biological parent is legally responsible for paying child support. A step parent is not legally responsible for paying child support.


Is a parent responsible for a child in college?

Legally, no.


What age is a parent legally responsible for a child in Ontario?

18


When is a parent no longer legally responsible for a child in Louisiana?

When the child turns 18.


Are parents legally responsible for child?

parents are in every way responsible for their child and they should always be there if the child is in need of their parent.


Is a parent legally responsible for a child who is 20 years old and lives at home in New York?

No, the child is legally responsible for themselves at the age of 18.


When is a parent no longer legally responsible for a child in Mississippi?

age 21


How long is a parent legally responsible for a child in the state of CT?

18


At what age is a parent not legally responsible for their child in Virginia?

18 years of age.


How long is a parent legally responsible for a child in Florida?

19 unless it has changed there.


Is a parent legally responsible for a married minor child?

No, once they are married they are emancipated.


Once a minor has moved out of the home at age 17 is the parent still responsible for that minor in Texas?

The parent is responsible for the child as long as the child is under the age of 18. However, if the child is legally emancipated, the parents are no longer responsible for the child.

People also asked