History, Politics & Society
History of Europe
History of Canada

The two European powers that fought over control of the territory that became Canada were the?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-08-15 19:52:19
2011-08-15 19:52:19

The British Empire and France were the two European powers to fight over Canadian territory.


Related Questions

The two European countries that fought over the territory that became Canada were France and Britain. France colonized parts of Canada first and then Britain stepped in. This is why there is such an influence from French culture in Canada.

The answer is Newfoundland and Labrador is the newest territory to be added to the wonderful country of Canada. It became part of Canada in 1949.

Nunavut became a territory in Canada because it was a result of a land settlemant between Canada and the Aboriginal people of Canada

Nunavut became a territory on April 1, 1999

The Yukon became a Territory in 1898 when they joined the Federation.

Spanish territory claimed the largest territory that later became a part of the United States.

PEI is NOT a territory. It is a province, and became part of Canada in 1873.

as a result of a land settlement between Canada and the aboriginal poeples of Canada!

Britain gained control of all explored territory in Canada in 1763 after the Seven Years' War. It later became a self-governing colony of Britain in 1867.

On April 1, 1999, Nunavut became a territory of Canada.

Labrador is not a territory in Canada it is a region that is part of Quebec but actually belongs to the province of Newfoundland which became a province in 1949

Nunavut became Canada's third territory on April 1, 1999.

control of territory and wealth

control of territory and wealth

Nunavut became the newest country that was created in 1999

What is now Yukon became part of Canada on July 15, 1870, the date Britain transferred Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory to Canada. The Government of Canada created Yukon as a Territory on June 13, 1898.

Although Saskatchewan became a province on September 1, 1905, the territory out of which Saskatchewan was formed became part of Canada on July 15, 1870, with the transfer of Rupert's Land from Britain to Canada.

France gave it's North American territory to Britain after the Seven Years War in the Treaty of Paris in 1763. Canada, as a country, wasn't created until 1867. It became increasingly independent of Britain over time, and in 1982 the last legal link was dropped and Canada became 100% independent of Britain.

A territory of northwest Canada east of Alaska. It became a territory in 1898 at the height of the Klondike gold rush. Whitehorse is the capital and the largest city.

Jacques Cartier was the French explorer who claimed eastern Canada for France. The territory was later colonized and became New France.

it became a territory in 1898

Portugal became a major sea power. (APEX)

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.