What age in Alabama can a child ride in a booster seat?

New laws require a rear-facing car seat for children until at least age 1 and at least 20 pounds. Then a forward-facing car seat until the child is at least 5 years old or weighs 40 pounds. A booster seat is then required until 6 years of age.

To follow the law, in Alabama, a child can be no younger than 5 years old and use a booster seat.